INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Streaming video to Android via Gizmo app still doesn't work (HELP)  (Read 2981 times)

famu97

• Junior Woodchuck

I updated my Gizmo app on my phone today to the latest update, that says it fixes the failed video streaming issue in the notes, but it still doesn't work.  I'm running JRMC16.0.32 beta.  Same problem happens. I start Gizmo, click through Video, and select one of my mp4 video files that's already formated to fit my screens resolution perfectly.  Then it says Loading.. then it says "Server preparing file..." and it stays there forever and never starts playing video.

There shouldn't be any need to do any video conversion on the back-end by MC.  I volunteer to help test out this functionality out from an end-user perspective so please contact me. I work in IT and I've been doing system integration testing for enterprise apps for 13 years.  I'm not a novice at testing. I really want this functionality to work.

I still have the same questions, what's happening on the back-end that MC needs to "prepare the file", when my video files on my htpc are already mp4, and they are formatted to fit my screens resolution and the file sizes are 500MB?  What's the idea resolution (spec) for an mp4 video file in order to stream it efficiently and fast with JRMC16 (e.g. 320x280, 700kps video, 128kbps audio stereo, smaller than 500MB, etc?

Here's my setup
- connected localled via Wi-Fi
- Have Moto Cliq (1st gen) running Android 2.1
- JRMC16.0.32 beta
  - MC Video Settings - set to stream for medium bandwidth
- HTPC has Intel Quad-core 2.4GHz Q6600 w/6GB of RAM
- OCZ 1200MHz RAM
- Auzentech HD X-Fi soundcard
- ATI 5570 Radeon video card

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?

famu97

• Junior Woodchuck
Re: Streaming video to Android via Gizmo app still doesn't work (HELP)