INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Feature Request: Do Not Update Tags  (Read 4176 times)

squeedle

• World Citizen
Feature Request: Do Not Update Tags
« on: March 21, 2011, 12:16:15 am »

I'm new to this program but have fallen in love with it. It's phenomenal.

There is one issue I wanted to inquire about though. The player seems to update the ID tags of my FLAC files with "last played" information. This is a handy feature, but it makes doing system backups kind of a pain because all those large files are now considered to have "changed" when in fact all that's changed are the insignificant "last played" tags.

It would be great if the "last played" information could be stored outside of the files themselves or disabled. I don't want a file to be physically changed unless I purposely change a tag myself.

Possible? Stupid?

Thanks again for such an amazing program.

MrC

• Citizen of the Universe
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Feature Request: Do Not Update Tags
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2011, 12:56:48 am »

This is curious. I look at my physical FLAC tags for a track I played today:

Code: [Select]
Free Lossless Audio Codec (FLAC)
  44.1 kHz Sample Rate
  16 Bits Per Sample
  2 Channels

Min Block Size = 4608
  Max Block Size = 4608
  Min Frame Size = 14
  Max Frame Size = 12595
  Padding Block = 4112 bytes

SeekTable Block (594 bytes):
  # of points = 33

Vorbis Comment Block (374 bytes):
  Vendor String =
  TOOL NAME = Media Center
  TOOL VERSION = 16.0.55
  GENRE = World
  DATE = 1987
  TITLE = Wawusho Kubani (Who Were You Talking To?)
  TRACKNUMBER = 10
  COMMENT = Track 10
  ARTIST = Ladysmith Black Mambazo
  ALBUM = Shaka Zulu
  BPM = 73
  INTENSITY = 1
  REFERENCE ID = 241
  REPLAYGAIN_TRACK_GAIN = +1.82 dB
  REPLAYGAIN_TRACK_PEAK = 0.991360