INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC  (Read 9205 times)

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71838
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« on: March 12, 2013, 09:15:55 am »

We didn't put it in the build notes, but you may be able to turn on Media Network on the Mac now.

Tools/Options/Media Network.

There are still some problems, but remotes may now work.  JRemote for iOS, Gizmo for Android, WebGizmo for any browser, ...

DLNA discovery does not yet work.

Please report what you find.

For those not familiar with it, here's our wiki topic on the Media Network feature set.
Logged

Dan1970

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2013, 09:48:13 am »

It took several connection attempts, but I have jremote now working (connected via ip address).

I guess the library server/client part is not working yet?

Thanks.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71838
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2013, 09:51:04 am »

You can't yet play to JRemote.  It only works to control MC.
Logged

Dan1970

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2013, 09:55:33 am »

I actually meant the client/server part of jriver itself, the ability to remotely control one jrmc from another jrmc.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71838
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2013, 10:07:53 am »

OK.  I see.  I don't know the status of that yet.

Bob has made a lot of progress to get to this point, so it may not take too much longer.
Logged

Dan1970

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2013, 10:15:57 am »

Thanks, that sounds great.

Keep up the good work!
Logged

cgbissett

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2013, 01:32:08 pm »

J Remote up and running on my 2010 iMac running Mountain lion. Struggled to connect using the access key, but the IP connection was fine. Thanks for the update and ongoing progress.

Cheers Craig.
Logged

kiwi

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 817
  • Don't worry, be happy...
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2013, 04:05:00 pm »

I got it working, but then the main server seems to have quit.

The library server says:
Status: not running (failed to start or other error)
port 52199

This happened after I connected to it and selected some music to listen to through my Mac.

I've attached the Log file.  Let me know if there's any other info I can help provide.
Logged

scottlf

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2013, 04:33:25 pm »

I am able to use JRemote just fine with two different Macs, using the IP address. Nice!  :D
Logged

Rogerdn

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #9 on: March 12, 2013, 05:43:58 pm »

I am using FING but see no new IP addresses since installing JR MAC, how can I identify it ?
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71838
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #10 on: March 12, 2013, 05:50:46 pm »

If Fing uses DLNA, it won't work yet.  Discovery doesn't work.  Using the specific IP address might work.  You can read about the Media Network changes in another recent thread.
Logged

digitalzed

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #11 on: March 12, 2013, 06:17:03 pm »

I'm unable to get JRemote working using ip or key. I've tried on both my iMac and MBP running the latest alpha version. My firewall is off and MC says I'm using Port 52199. Anyone know if that sounds right?
Logged

glynor

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 19608
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #12 on: March 12, 2013, 07:00:08 pm »

Fricking fantastic job, Bob!  Bravo!
Logged
"Some cultures are defined by their relationship to cheese."

Visit me on the Interweb Thingie: http://glynor.com/

Rogerdn

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #13 on: March 12, 2013, 07:18:33 pm »

Got it working via IP add, pretty nice, very responsive.
Logged

kiwi

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 817
  • Don't worry, be happy...
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #14 on: March 12, 2013, 07:21:50 pm »

@digitalzed did you check to see that the servers were running?  I had to restart them a few times to get htem up and running.
Logged

digitalzed

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #15 on: March 12, 2013, 07:25:37 pm »

@digitalzed did you check to see that the servers were running?  I had to restart them a few times to get htem up and running.

I'm not sure how to do that!  :-[ Any tips would be appreciated.
Logged

digitalzed

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #16 on: March 12, 2013, 10:43:49 pm »

I did get it to work with my MBP, but still not my desktop. I'm going to play more with the app now.
Logged

kiwi

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 817
  • Don't worry, be happy...
Logged

kiwi

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 817
  • Don't worry, be happy...
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #18 on: March 13, 2013, 12:22:27 am »

Hmmm.  I have Gizmo installed on my Kindle Fire, but the only option I have it to enter my "JRiver Library Server access key".

And this doesn't seem to work.  I can't seem to find an option to specify the IP Address.
Logged

pkoss

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #19 on: March 13, 2013, 08:57:28 am »

All Apple here, and new to JRemote.  Kicked the tires yesterday and got it working, but did not spent time.  So this morning early I started my MBPro and started Media Center.  I had yesterday turned on Media Network.  One last thing, I hid the Media Center window using the OSX Dock hide command under the MC icon.

A few hours later I came back to my home office and brought up JRemote on my iPhone.  Could not connect through either the wired or the wifi ip address configurations I had set up and tested under JRemote.

Went to the MBPro and brought the MC window back by clicking the OSX dock icon, and then to Tools/Options/Media Network.  The Media Network check mark was still there.  To test, I unchecked the MC Media Network check mark and closed the Options.  Then again to Tools/Options/Media Network and re-checked the Media Network check mark.  Then with no other intervening actions either on the MBPro or on the network, I went back to my IPhone and JRemote worked perfectly.  I have attached a log.

I can see that I'm going to like JRemote!

Thanks.
pat

Logged

Peter_RN

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
  • Old Guys Rule... the older I get the better I was.
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #20 on: March 13, 2013, 01:19:30 pm »

Unable to get this working at all, PC – Mac using WebGizmo.

Eventually got server to start and an Access code generated but always receive the standard ‘Internet Explorer cannot display page’ message, a refresh results in a ‘No access key provided’ – but I assume this is to be expected using refresh button.

It is difficult to be certain that the server is actually running, this will be easier of course once DLNA discovery is working. Early days yet but delighted to see you giving this important function some priority.

Peter
Logged

Weedos123

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 75
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #21 on: March 13, 2013, 05:07:27 pm »

I have JRemote working on  a dedicated 2012 mini with 10.8.2 using the ip address to connect.  The only thing I can't get JRemote to do is wake the mini up after its gone to sleep, I have to wake it up by other means before JRemote will reconnect.
Logged
2012 i7 Mac Mini - Media Center for mac |
Debian Wheezy 64 bit - Media Center for linux| Exasound e28 DAC

kiwi

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 817
  • Don't worry, be happy...
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #22 on: March 13, 2013, 05:45:24 pm »

Hmmm.  I have Gizmo installed on my Kindle Fire, but the only option I have it to enter my "JRiver Library Server access key".

And this doesn't seem to work.  I can't seem to find an option to specify the IP Address.
Got Gizmo working, needed to just type in x.x.x.x:52199

and it worked.
Logged

ting8663

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #23 on: March 14, 2013, 09:58:46 am »

My Naim Unitilite cannot find any UPnP server after turned on Media Network.  Checked in MC that DLNA server is already running...

I have tried MC Windows version before.  My Naim could find and play from it.

Looking forward for updates...anyway, good work!
Logged

ismewor

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #24 on: March 15, 2013, 03:00:48 am »

I install this build 146, when i double click on the song, it pop up and saying player error. any idea?
Logged

shAf

  • Regular Member
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 859
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #25 on: March 15, 2013, 07:32:52 am »

What is the procedure for having MC Mac connect to a WinMC media server?  I thought it was to create a new library  that addressed 'IP:52199' but it doesn't seem to work(?)

TIA :)
Logged
cheerios from the Avalon Peninsula, Newfoundland

InfernoSTi

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Hawthorne Audio Reference Speakers
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #26 on: March 15, 2013, 09:57:14 pm »

I can't get things working right...it seems I need to port forward my router???  I'm not sure how to go about that kind of thing....

John
Logged

jmrdc

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #27 on: March 16, 2013, 12:04:22 pm »

Dude(s), this is so awesome!!
Logged

Claude Lapalme

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 233
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #28 on: March 16, 2013, 01:42:13 pm »

What is the procedure for having MC Mac connect to a WinMC media server?  I thought it was to create a new library  that addressed 'IP:52199' but it doesn't seem to work(?)

TIA :)

Same here. Both the PC and the Mac "see" each other, but I can't load the PC's Library on the Mac. But I'm not prompted to enter the access code and there is a message saying that the library could not be loaded and to check that the server is working properly. I've scoure the site to see if this is simply not yet implemented but could not find any information. I'm using an SMB Share of the Windows folder for the time being.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71838
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #29 on: March 16, 2013, 02:50:46 pm »

MC Win and Mac can probably not play each other's libraries at this time.  Win to Win or Mac to Mac should work.

See these topics on the wiki for setup information:

http://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Servers
and
http://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Network_Access

We may not be able to provide much support for setup problems yet.
Logged

Claude Lapalme

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 233
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #30 on: March 16, 2013, 02:57:51 pm »

Thanks for the response! I'll stop trying until its implemented.
Logged

johnjen

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 321
  • Sonicus Caelumus Tremendamus
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #31 on: March 17, 2013, 01:15:50 am »

Ok so today the distortion at elevated levels has moved up to only the very loud passages, like drum hits during crescendos.

But the player is playing two audio streams at the same time.

One is thru Ethernet and the other is out the usb port.

2 independent and separate sound tracks.  

But the Ethernet feed is interrupted when the other (USB) feed reaches the end of a track. The Ethernet feed then skips to the next track and starts playing.  And there seem to be other 'triggers' to this 'end this track and start the next' behavior.

And the display info in the MC player window of which track is playing what, is out of synch with what is actually playing.

When I look at the MC overview window, both sound tracks show up.

The sound from the Ethernet data stream is MUCH better now that the distortion has been reduced.  
But the output is still rather hot.  Well, until I adjust the volume control slider, then it backs down to closer to 'normal' levels.

OS 10.6.8  MC version 151

EDIT  for those with a PWD-II, the skip to next, or skip to previous buttons (in the PWD front display window, left of the volume +/- buttons) seem to work when in pause.  And the info in the PWD window does seem to reflect the current track that is actually playing.

JJ
Logged
Custom 71A HP amp, Schiit Jggy dac, HD-800-Jmod, AOIP digital data feed, custom wiring and mains power feed, Mac Pro 4cpu 16GB ram SSD's

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71838
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #32 on: March 17, 2013, 07:03:11 am »

johnjen,
Please use "New Topic" in the upper right corner of the board's index page to post anything other than a bug report.

Thanks.
Logged

shAf

  • Regular Member
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 859
Re: Media Network in 18.0.146 for MAC
« Reply #33 on: March 17, 2013, 11:39:17 am »

MC Win and Mac can probably not play each other's libraries at this time.  Win to Win or Mac to Mac should work.
...
We may not be able to provide much support for setup problems yet.

I can be patient.  That said, I believe everyone knows that the PC version sets the bar darn high relative to media server applications, and that while some of us have turned to the Mac for other applications, we realize the primary library will reside with the PC version for some time to come.  Personally, I wanted MC on my MBA solely for connecting to my MC library, and a WinPC will likely remain central to our family room for a variety of reasons.  Therefore, I hope I'm not the only one who hopes for a Mac-to-PC MC connection soon and hope you'll soon find a way ... just my vote ...

my CA$0.02  ;D
Logged
cheerios from the Avalon Peninsula, Newfoundland
Pages: [1]   Go Up