INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MC is unclickable  (Read 2839 times)

laerm

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 424
MC is unclickable
« on: May 09, 2013, 03:59:20 pm »

Hi all

I thought I'd start a new thread for an issue I mentioned in http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=80441.msg547459#msg547459 with Matt.

MC is unclickable after running for 30 minutes or so. It's not frozen. It's like the window is "invisible" to the mouse but visible to the eye. Clicking on it will actually be a click on whatever is underneath the window. (Right-clicking lets you figure out what is beneath.)

Audio is good and no other issues, but this has been an issue since .179. It also will not respond to any keyboard commands EXCEPT play/pause from the media keys.

OS X 10.8.3
MC 180

Thanks!
Micah
Logged

laerm

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 424
Re: MC is unclickable
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2013, 01:07:18 pm »

So, sort of a bump. I still have this issue. Anyone else seeing this? I am now on .182 and it's still here. Really annoying to find that the app is essentially unusable within 20 minutes.  :(

Thanks...
Micah
Logged

kiwi

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 817
  • Don't worry, be happy...
Re: MC is unclickable
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2013, 03:47:52 pm »

It went away for me but it has come back 3 times when using 181 and 182.  Don't know what is triggering it.
Logged

mickanger

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: MC is unclickable
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2013, 10:48:36 am »

Thist  started happenning for me with v82, it was never there until I went from v76 to this one. I'll try going back to an earlier version if it persists. This is weird behavior that I haven't encountered before in any program.
OSX 10.8.3
2.53mgz core 2 duo
Logged

BartMan01

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 1513
Re: MC is unclickable
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2013, 02:32:11 am »

This sounds exactly like the issue I am having with the latest build (.191), it hasn't hung or crashed I just can click anywhere in the UI and have it do anything and the menu at the top reflect the program UNDER MC.  Tracks that are playing keep playing and the highlighted track changes in the UI as the tracks change.

I 'quit' and the UI closed but the app remained in the dock until I forced quit.
Logged

Weedos123

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 75
Re: MC is unclickable
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2013, 06:41:56 am »

Happening with me too.  Started with v190 still there is v191. Never happened before, so gone back to v187 which is fine.

OSX 10.8.3 with all versions of MC
Logged
2012 i7 Mac Mini - Media Center for mac |
Debian Wheezy 64 bit - Media Center for linux| Exasound e28 DAC

benn600

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3849
  • Living: Santa Monica CA Hometown: Cedar Rapids IA
Re: MC is unclickable
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2013, 09:51:40 am »

I see this periodically as well.  On a side note, this time it just happened I couldn't even right-click on the dock icon / Quit or go to the upper menu / Quit.  Neither did anything, so I had to force quit.
Logged

laerm

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 424
Re: MC is unclickable
« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2013, 03:57:09 am »

Hello all -

Just so I don't leave a topic I started after it picks up steam... I am away for the next week and have not updated since before I left 9 days ago. I was still having this problem, though. I look forward to see if the new version solves anything.

Micah
Logged

jlyness

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 99
Re: MC is unclickable
« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2013, 02:22:46 pm »

I too have seen this exact same, very frustrating problem, intermittently but quite frequent with .191.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71838
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: MC is unclickable
« Reply #9 on: May 29, 2013, 02:27:27 pm »

We're still trying to solve this.  We can reproduce it.
Logged

JohnT

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 4627
Re: MC is unclickable
« Reply #10 on: May 30, 2013, 02:57:16 pm »

In certain cases, the program was making itself "topmost" window so that if a dialog window popped up (i.e. the Options dialog), it would be below Media Center and not visible.  Media Center would appear to be totally unresponsive.  

We've fixed this issue for tonight's build, so please test it out.  It's possible there are other window "focus" issues remaining.  

If problems remain, please try to figure out a series of steps that reproduce the problem so we can try it here.
Logged
John Thompson, JRiver Media Center

Solitary1

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: MC is unclickable
« Reply #11 on: June 01, 2013, 02:21:32 am »

Still does for me using the latest beta.
Logged
Mac OSX 10.8.3->Mac Mini Late 2012 Quad Core i7 2.6g/ 16g RAM->iTunes/Audirvana +/ BitPerfect/ Amarra HiFi, Fidelia, Decimal->ALO Pan Am DAC/Headphone amp.-> Audio GD-NFB-1132 DAC/Headphone Amp. ->Sennheiser HD650 Headphones or AKG K702 Headphones

taz_er88

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: MC is unclickable
« Reply #12 on: June 01, 2013, 09:49:44 am »

I confirm,

I still have this issue with .193.

Below one reproducible method to get it:

1) Output mode is set to Display Audio (it is a thunderbolt display) instead of M2Tech as usual
2) I select a track which is a FLAC file with 24bit/96KHz
3) I get the warning box Playback Problem: Playback could not be...using the format '96kHz 24bit 2ch'. Up to now nothing wrong.
4) I close the box with ok and that's it, focus is lost, MC has become unclickable!!!

Cheers,
Etienne

Macbook Pro Retina 15"
Thunderbolt Display
OS X 10.8.3
Hiface 2 +Micromega MyDAC
Logged

Weedos123

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 75
Re: MC is unclickable
« Reply #13 on: June 03, 2013, 03:14:48 pm »

With version 193, similar to Taz_er88, I can make MC unresponsive to mouse clicks.

It seems to happen by provoking the display of an error message and then dismissing the dialog box.  The focus goes somewhere, but not back to the main MC window. The playback problem dialog is usually the one that does it when I not trying to make MC fall over.

Paul
Logged
2012 i7 Mac Mini - Media Center for mac |
Debian Wheezy 64 bit - Media Center for linux| Exasound e28 DAC

JohnT

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 4627
Re: MC is unclickable
« Reply #14 on: June 04, 2013, 02:59:11 pm »

I think we've got this fixed.  Please try tonight's build when it's posted (194 or greater).
Logged
John Thompson, JRiver Media Center

Solitary1

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: MC is unclickable
« Reply #15 on: June 05, 2013, 05:13:29 pm »

I think we've got this fixed.  Please try tonight's build when it's posted (194 or greater).

Lookin' good!
Logged
Mac OSX 10.8.3->Mac Mini Late 2012 Quad Core i7 2.6g/ 16g RAM->iTunes/Audirvana +/ BitPerfect/ Amarra HiFi, Fidelia, Decimal->ALO Pan Am DAC/Headphone amp.-> Audio GD-NFB-1132 DAC/Headphone Amp. ->Sennheiser HD650 Headphones or AKG K702 Headphones

laerm

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 424
Re: MC is unclickable
« Reply #16 on: June 07, 2013, 09:39:23 am »

This seems to be ok for me now....thanks!

Micah
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up