INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Tracks cutting off early with media network.  (Read 2699 times)

Bachiano

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Tracks cutting off early with media network.
« on: June 11, 2013, 10:33:12 am »

When playing direct on the computer ( not Wireless ) the tracks play fine and switch quickly without a gap. Well maybe a tiny tiny one.

I'm playing Dardanus by Rameau.
It's an early Baroque Opera.
Some of the Acts/Scenes are suppose to jump from one to the next without pause.

I think this is the problem:
So I haven't notice this problem in Media Network before cause most albums have silent spaces between the tracks but not this Dardanus.

But Like I said: No problem when playing direct on the computer.
Increased buffer to 10 and then to 20. Did not help.  
That only increased the size of the gap before the next track.

Connected the renderer with ethernet cable to make sure it is not a wireless problem. Behavior is still the same.

P.S.  Q. Do settings in Audio / Audio output - have an effect on > Media Network?
Logged

JohnT

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 4627
Re: Tracks cutting off early with media network.
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2013, 02:44:55 pm »

We've found that most ethernet DAC's do not support gapless playback.  They must support the "SetNext AVTransport URI" protocol in order for this to work.  If they do support it, Media Center will play gapless.  What model DAC are you using?
Logged
John Thompson, JRiver Media Center

Bachiano

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: Tracks cutting off early with media network.
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2013, 03:42:03 pm »

Maybe this is related to my other post because I'm using Flac.

I converted the flac to alac, put it in itunes and I had no problems with transitions.
They were very smooth.

Next I'll put the alac in Mc and see what happens.

I'll keep experimenting and I'll report later.

Thanks

Logged

Bachiano

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: Tracks cutting off early with media network.
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2013, 03:43:34 pm »

We've found that most ethernet DAC's do not support gapless playback.  They must support the "SetNext AVTransport URI" protocol in order for this to work.  If they do support it, Media Center will play gapless.  What model DAC are you using?

I'm using a Pioneer sc-1222.

Logged

Bachiano

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: Tracks cutting off early with media network.
« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2013, 11:31:27 am »

Tried playing different files but behavior is still the same.

Towards the end of one track
there is a 2 to 3 second silent/break
before the next track begins.

Itunes still sends gapless to the receiver and it plays nicely without a gap.
I can also scroll forwards and backwards through the tracks per my other thread.
So I don't think it is the receiver but what do I know?


Logged

JohnT

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 4627
Re: Tracks cutting off early with media network.
« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2013, 03:05:48 pm »

When you say iTunes plays gapless, are you talking about over ethernet to the DAC?
Logged
John Thompson, JRiver Media Center

Bachiano

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: Tracks cutting off early with media network.
« Reply #6 on: June 12, 2013, 03:30:14 pm »

Yes ! Wireless ethernet.

Thanks
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71630
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Tracks cutting off early with media network.
« Reply #7 on: June 12, 2013, 04:19:17 pm »

I don't think iTunes supports DLNA.  I believe it's using Airplay.
Logged

Bachiano

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: Tracks cutting off early with media network.
« Reply #8 on: June 12, 2013, 04:24:47 pm »

You're probably right.
I'll check later and see what the renderer reports.
Thanks

Logged

Bachiano

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: Tracks cutting off early with media network.
« Reply #9 on: June 12, 2013, 04:52:16 pm »

Yes. The renderer reports Airplay.
What now?

In the mean time. I'm going to try to go in and see if there are any dlna settings in the renderer I can play with.
Logged

Bachiano

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: Tracks cutting off early with media network.
« Reply #10 on: June 12, 2013, 05:28:49 pm »

Nope. Nothing to modify in the renderer :-(

What now?
Logged

JohnT

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 4627
Re: Tracks cutting off early with media network.
« Reply #11 on: June 14, 2013, 07:48:00 pm »

You could try checking for a firmware update for that DAC which has added gapless DLNA support.  Kind of a long shot though.  You could put in a support request with them to update their firmware.  I notice that they just recently did a firmware update which added the gapless Airplay support, so it would be nice if they'd do it on the DLNA side as well.
Logged
John Thompson, JRiver Media Center
Pages: [1]   Go Up