INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Sorting when connected to a Windows server  (Read 2823 times)

laerm

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 424
Sorting when connected to a Windows server
« on: July 10, 2013, 10:41:50 am »

Hello

I have issues with sorting when I connect to my Windows server. Everything works as expected with a local library, but, connected to a server, the Album Artist (auto) field appears not to work. Compilations are not grouped together and there is no (Multiple Artists) listing in the Artist pane (which I have set to Album Artist (auto)).

Thanks...
Micah
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Sorting when connected to a Windows server
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2013, 02:09:42 pm »

It should work fine, and works correctly here.

I wonder if there is some caching issue.
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

laerm

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 424
Re: Sorting when connected to a Windows server
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2013, 02:12:56 pm »

Hm, well, it's never worked over here. I had an issue with long fields breaking the search function that JohnT helped me solve, and updating the library from tags was a solution. Album Artist (auto) seems like a field that can't be updated, though, so I doubt it's related to that...

What can I do to help troubleshoot?

Micah
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Sorting when connected to a Windows server
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2013, 02:17:21 pm »

Album Artist (auto) is calculated automatically.

Have you entered values there?  Values can be entered, but should not be.  Go to the server, and select an albums files, and in the tag action window, edit the value for Album Artist (auto), and press delete.  Then check again.

The screenshot shows how it looks here.
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

laerm

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 424
Re: Sorting when connected to a Windows server
« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2013, 10:52:04 am »

I understand what you're saying and how that could mess things up, but how can I tell the difference between a calculated entry and one entered manually? I looked at the compilations and they all look fine to me: (Multiple Artists) says (Multiple Artists).

Should I select my whole library and delete the Album Artist (auto) field to see if I can get things back to normal?

Thanks
Micah
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Sorting when connected to a Windows server
« Reply #5 on: July 11, 2013, 11:45:19 am »

With Album Artist (auto), you can't really tell.  So, if you have valuable data there not present in Artist or Album Artist, then save the field's contents to, say, Custom (or any field of your choosing).  Select all files, and in the Tag Action Window, enter:

  =[Album Artist (auto)]

in the Custom field.

Then, in the Tag Action Window, click-to-edit the Album Artist (auto) field value, and press Delete.  This will clear out the value, and MC will revert to using the calculated value.
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

laerm

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 424
Re: Sorting when connected to a Windows server
« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2013, 01:00:21 pm »

Yeah, that's what I was thinking...

Well, apparently I entered something into AA(a) accidentally, because I did as you suggested and things have returned to normal. I took a look at the temp custom field I created, and there was one entry for one album of D. That's all, just D. ::) So...user error.

Thanks very much
Micah
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Sorting when connected to a Windows server
« Reply #7 on: July 11, 2013, 01:07:08 pm »

Great!
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

laerm

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 424
Re: Sorting when connected to a Windows server
« Reply #8 on: July 16, 2013, 10:08:03 am »

Drat, I am afraid I'm back. I didn't make an in-depth assessment when you helped on this last week. As it stands right now, the artists who only appear on compilations are not listed in the greater AA(a) category, but (Multiple Artists) is not, either. Also, the sorting is otherwise messy. It's like the default sort or any other doesn't work when selected from the Sort selector in the pane tab. And, in fact, the Custom sort builder pop-up is just a solid white box with no options to it.

Sorry to zombie a topic...any ideas? Thanks
Micah
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Sorting when connected to a Windows server
« Reply #9 on: July 16, 2013, 10:20:51 am »

Show some screenshots if you can.
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

laerm

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 424
Re: Sorting when connected to a Windows server
« Reply #10 on: July 16, 2013, 10:25:47 am »

OK, here is what I see in my blank sort pop-up, as well as the missing (Multiple Artists) entry in the artists pane, which is set to AA(a).



What else would you like to see?

Micah
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Sorting when connected to a Windows server
« Reply #11 on: July 16, 2013, 10:43:22 am »

I see.  It looks like a bug.
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

laerm

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 424
Re: Sorting when connected to a Windows server
« Reply #12 on: July 16, 2013, 10:46:19 am »

OK, thanks for taking a look. Let me know if I can do anything else for you, error report, etc. (I still have other bugs...)

Micah
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Sorting when connected to a Windows server
« Reply #13 on: July 16, 2013, 10:47:08 am »

I've reported it in the main Mac build thread so that JRiver can take a look.
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

laerm

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 424
Re: Sorting when connected to a Windows server
« Reply #14 on: July 16, 2013, 10:47:31 am »

OK, thank you.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up