INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Getting loopback to work  (Read 10223 times)

sema

• Recent member
Getting loopback to work
« on: March 03, 2014, 02:35:01 pm »

Hi Everybody,

I am new to JRiver. Actually still working with the Demo version, but I like it a lot and am planning to purchase the full version. I use convolution with Acourate-generated filters and am very happy with the result. I have a pair of Focal Solo6s and an ACT AL4 Sub. The Acourate-generated filters do (1) room correction and (2) have digital XO function between sub and main speakers.

I use an RME Fireface UC audio interface with ASIO drivers.

Now I would also like to get sound from sources outside JRiver Media Center convolved (such as Spotify, or youtube audio). For this I have been trying to get JRiver's loopback function to work for me, but without success. WASAPI loopback almost works, but stutters and skips.

With ASIO loopback I haven't been successful at all. My RME Fireface has a loopback function with which I could feed audio from other applications into the JRiver's ASIO input. But I can't seem to get any sound into JRiver. I have read somewhere that for using ASIO loopback I need to use a different physical audio device for input than for output. Why is that? The RME Fireface is also multi client capable.

I have also tried a virtual audio cable to get external sound into JRiver. This sometimes worked, but sometimes also crashed.

I am using two PCs with JRiver and the Fireface: For audio only I use an Intel Atom PC (ASUS Eebox) which has enough oomph for audio without problems, but not much more. For video, and also my attempts with loopback, I use a Core i5 PC notebook. The Windows performance index of the latter is 6.9 for the CPU, so this should rule out a lack of horsepower to be causing the stuttering/skipping.