INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Playback stops when sample rate changes  (Read 7532 times)

robertk

Playback stops when sample rate changes
« on: February 14, 2014, 03:58:53 am »

I'm new to MC and in the free trial month, using MC 19.0.108.
When the next song has a different sample rate (higher or lower) from the one just ended, playback stops. The play/pause button shows pause but no sound comes out and the elapsed track time counter stays at 0. I have to hit stop then play to make it continue.
Searches seem to show this problem has happened fairly regularly over the years, but most threads just end without a solution being given. It seemed to get fixed in MC17 but appeared again in 18.
I'm sending USB data to a Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 using ASIO (Audio setup "Focusrite USB 2.0 Audio Driver (ASIO)")
Not resampling anything or using the DSP.

Thanks.

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Playback stops when sample rate changes
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2014, 09:47:51 am »

Not all DSD'S will make the switch gracefully.   Use MC'S DSD Studio Output Settings to resample everything.

robertk

« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2014, 10:15:35 am »

I don't really want to resample everything, and it shouldn't be necessary.
Do you know what is going wrong? Do you think MC is sending out the correct ASIO commands - i.e. do changes in sample rate work with other USB interfaces? If so, is there a specific ASIO command that the Focusrite driver is not handling properly, or something?

JimH

• Administrator
  • Where did I put my teeth?
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2014, 10:18:13 am »

It's the DAC or the driver.  Did you try what I suggested?

mwillems

• MC Beta Team
  • "Linux Merit Badge" Recipient
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2014, 10:21:29 am »