INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Audio File Organization  (Read 1100 times)

jnahman

• Recent member
Audio File Organization
« on: June 19, 2014, 09:07:46 pm »

Hi...I'm new to JR and haven't found the answer to my question in the posts....maybe a search term issue? Anyway, I would like to place all fragmented folders currently listed under the artist in one folder...basically with my artist designation or album name. If I move these files (usually from compilations) into a single folder and have JR reread the library (I may need help with this function), will it work? Secondly, I read where I can specify an artist name and this clump together an album with multiple artists...I have failed to find this function even though I have read about it. Lastly, I want to move audio folders off my laptop (where JR resides) to an external music hard drive and delete the audio files from the laptop...anyone see issues with this?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts and guidance.

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Audio File Organization
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2014, 10:45:25 pm »

Media Center does not really care about your file structure on the disk, so moving them externally is not going to affect how they are organized in you library.
File organization is primarily handled via the file tags.

You can create views which will display your albums based on the file structure, but other than for library maintenance it's not something I would really recommend.

When dealing with multiple artists, be sure that whatever view you are using is grouped by [Album Artist (auto)] rather than the [Artist] tag.

A track can contain multiple items in the [Artist] tag, but only a single [Album Artist] value.
The [Album Artist (auto)] field is special and will try to automatically calculate a value for [Album Artist] based on the [Artist] tags in the file.