INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Error when filename contains slash (unsolved)  (Read 5668 times)

Fred1

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
  • Change this by choosing profile
Error when filename contains slash (unsolved)
« on: August 10, 2014, 11:56:18 pm »

Rename, Move & Copy Files dialog:
When a filename contains a colon, MC stores this ":" instead of replacing it with an underscore "_".

MC can read the file but in finder these files are not visible any more.
See picture (after renaming is done):

Logged

Arindelle

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2772
Re: Error when filename contains colon
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2014, 06:25:34 am »

hmm I thought there was, in options, a way to set illegal characters to other allowed ones .... But can't find it  :-[ If it disappeared thats should be changed. Haven't been around awhile though, so maybe someone else could chime in

If no one else answers that knows, and there are only a couple,  you could rename and reimport the file. If there are tons of them that's another story.

Logged

Fred1

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
  • Change this by choosing profile
Re: Error when filename contains colon
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2014, 11:18:53 am »

hmm I thought there was, in options, a way to set illegal characters to other allowed ones ....

I think there never were such options - but i may be wrong.
MC should however handle this gracefully by itself.

The concerned files can't be found by the OS (finder) any more.
Only MC has them in its library and can play them.

This happens every time you rename/copy files by using the "Rename, Move & Copy Files " dialog if the "right" fields contain illegal characters (at least colons).
Logged

Arindelle

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2772
Re: Error when filename contains colon
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2014, 11:43:36 am »

The concerned files can't be found by the OS (finder) any more.
Only MC has them in its library and can play them.

Hey Fred. Have you tried to use the locate- external command under Tools. If JRiver can play them should be able to find them again. Or maybe use Locate-internal and rename within MC?
Logged

Fred1

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
  • Change this by choosing profile
Re: Error when filename contains colon
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2014, 12:31:07 pm »

Just searched with the wizzard (filename contains ':' ) and found another 121 files in the library with this bug.

I can't locate them with finder but i can rename them with MC.
But nevertheless that's a severe bug!
Logged

adamt

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
Re: Error when filename contains colon
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2014, 12:39:27 pm »

Are you sure you're running the latest version (19.0.154)?

Quote
Fixed: MC will no longer use colons in the name when saving files on Mac.

There are still a couple kinks to work out of this change, but if I understand the issue correctly, this should work.
Logged
Adam Thompson, JRiver

Fred1

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
  • Change this by choosing profile
Re: Error when filename contains colon
« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2014, 12:55:49 pm »

Are you sure you're running the latest version (19.0.154)?

You are right!
Sorry, this was the only Mac not yet updated to 19.0.154 (was still at 19.0.152).

Tested it and it works as expected.
Could rename the 121 files in question with MC.

Thanks.
Logged

Fred1

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
  • Change this by choosing profile
Re: Error when filename contains slash (unsolved)
« Reply #7 on: September 03, 2014, 04:48:54 am »

One more Problem with special characters in version 19.0.163:

When using the "Rename, Move & Copy Files" dialog with fields that contain '/' characters, subfolders are created at the '/' point instead of replacing the '/' character with an underline.

This is related to the colon-problem. Please test more carefully.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up