INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: JRiver audio engine for whole system ?  (Read 4312 times)

orangeart

• Junior Woodchuck
JRiver audio engine for whole system ?
« on: September 25, 2014, 09:23:51 am »

Hello all, This is my first time on this forum so I am just introducing myself along with my first question. This looks like a very active forum which is good to see. I haven't bought the software yet but am hoping it will do good things for me.

A long time ago I remember reading about the audio engine being available as an ASIO driver and that in the not to distant future the dev's were looking to support the audio engine as a WDM driver. I notice there has now been a new release so assumed that this would be a part of it, I can't see it mentioned in the change logs though so maybe it hasn't got through to the final release? Can anyone confirm that for me and does anyone know when it might happen.

Currently I am using a miniDSP sharc board to do my routing / crossover / DRC duties and it work brilliantly, however I'd like to save a bit of space and free up some cash by selling all the dacs (buffaloes) and the miniDSP and move over to a software routing solution with VST that can be presented to the whole system as a WDM driver. As far as I can see there aren't any other products that would allow this to happen.

I guess one option would be to use some software like 'Virtual Audio Cable' to connect to the MC ASIO driver and then do routing / VST / convolution from there then out to a multichannel sound card? This whole signal chain could then be presented to the whole OS via the VAC soundcard. Does anyone else do this? is it even possible? If so has anyone got a few link or a little tutorial they could point me in the direction of please.