INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down

Author Topic: Tidal Music Service via JRiver?  (Read 65522 times)

6233638

  • Regular Member
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 5353
Re: Tidal Music Service via JRiver?
« Reply #50 on: February 18, 2015, 11:42:27 am »

No matter which latency and pre-buffer settings I use...including these...I continue to hear a brief stutter at the beginning of a tune and periodic scratches.
This only occurs using Tidal through JRiver 20.70; no problems playing Spotify, Pandora, etc through WMD and no problems playing Tidal bypassing JRiver and going directly to my Teac UD-501.
I think the issue with the stutter at the start of each track is that Tidal is actually stopping and re-opening the device every time the track changes - and the WDM driver always stutters when it starts.
So it's an issue with the WDM driver that Tidal exacerbates due to the way it handles playback.
 
I've never been able to get the WDM driver to have smooth playback without any pops/clicks. (buffer underruns I'd guess)
I hadn't used the WDM driver for a while and ended up using it to test something else a couple of days ago (unrelated to Tidal at all) and it was still giving me random pops/clicks during playback no matter the buffer sizes/latency in use.
Logged

flyfish2002

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Tidal Music Service via JRiver?
« Reply #51 on: February 18, 2015, 12:06:24 pm »

With the changes from this thread, my pops & stutters are very minimal - often a complete listening session without any issues.  I can live with this...

My one issue is when I run TIDAL thru MC 20 and control via Gizmo on Android tablet, no track info or picture shows up.  I am limited to starting, stopping and pausing.

Is this the current normal as we work thru this?
Logged

Micromecca

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 283
Re: Tidal Music Service via JRiver?
« Reply #52 on: February 18, 2015, 12:44:06 pm »

I found I could switch to the Chromium engine which is the core of Chrome.  With this it will go to the player page and you can make a player selection.  But when you push play it goes to an error screen saying it lacks Adobe Flashplayer and you can go no further.

Install the flash player for Chromium from Here
Logged

mojave

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3732
  • Requires "iTunes or better" so I installed JRiver
Re: Tidal Music Service via JRiver?
« Reply #53 on: February 18, 2015, 01:44:59 pm »

After having some pops/clicks during Tidal playback I allocated the processor resources for best performance of background services. Until I did this, I still had issues even with Live Playback Latency at 500 ms.  I now have perfect playback and use the following buffers:
Tools > Options > Audio > Advanced > Live Playback Latency > Minimum
Tools > Options > Audio > Audio Device > Device Settings > Buffering > Minimum Hardware Size (on work PC) and 10 ms (on home HTPC)

Logged

Acesn8s

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Tidal Music Service via JRiver?
« Reply #54 on: February 19, 2015, 09:08:40 am »

After having some pops/clicks during Tidal playback I allocated the processor resources for best performance of background services. Until I did this, I still had issues even with Live Playback Latency at 500 ms.  I now have perfect playback and use the following buffers:
Tools > Options > Audio > Advanced > Live Playback Latency > Minimum
Tools > Options > Audio > Audio Device > Device Settings > Buffering > Minimum Hardware Size (on work PC) and 10 ms (on home HTPC)



Much appreciate the advice, but no solution yet for me.

I run a dedicated recent Dell laptop with the unfortunate Windows 8.1 as the hub in my main audio system, retrieving ripped music from an external hard drive and streaming Tidal, Sirius-XM, Spotify and more into a TEAC UD-501 hi-rez DAC, then on to a hybrid integrated amp and either full resolution floorstanders or a headphone amp and various cans.

The TEAC can handle most anything JRiver can resample, but alone it will upsample only to 24/192kHz. The point, for me, of WDM as the "Holy Grail" is to resample the highest quality stream I can obtain, which is Tidal, to at least 352kHz.

I have followed every proposed cure on this thread; none removes all the stutters and scratches from WDM, which do not occur when I bypass JRiver.

Perhaps the management can address what appears to be an inherent  incompatibility between Tidal and MC 20.

Note: JRiver literally changed the way I listen to music, which is why this ongoing glitch is so frustrating.

Thanks!

Logged

mojave

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3732
  • Requires "iTunes or better" so I installed JRiver
Re: Tidal Music Service via JRiver?
« Reply #55 on: February 19, 2015, 11:07:24 am »

Are you playing Tidal through the web browser or through their application? I'm using the application. Have you increased the Tidal Album Cache Size? I set mine to 1000 MB and have verified that entire songs are downloaded. I can disconnect my network access and playback continues just fine.
Logged

Acesn8s

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Tidal Music Service via JRiver?
« Reply #56 on: February 20, 2015, 07:56:19 am »

Are you playing Tidal through the web browser or through their application? I'm using the application. Have you increased the Tidal Album Cache Size? I set mine to 1000 MB and have verified that entire songs are downloaded. I can disconnect my network access and playback continues just fine.

Playing through Tidal app; reset cache size per your suggestion.

No improvement, but thanks.
Logged

Acesn8s

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Tidal Music Service via JRiver?
« Reply #57 on: February 24, 2015, 08:23:43 am »

Here is a form response from TIDAL, providing no solution:


Hello,

Thank you for contacting TIDAL customer support.

At this time TIDAL is not a partner with JRiver and our products are not officially supported. We are aware that there is a workaround to get TIDAL to stream on JRiver. Please check our regularly updated list of hardware and partner companies to see when a JRiver partnership is announced with TIDAL.

https://tidalsupport.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/201724751-Which-Home-Audio-Players-Partner-Companies-will-TIDAL-be-available-on-

Best Regards,

Colin
TIDAL Support
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71619
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Tidal Music Service via JRiver?
« Reply #58 on: February 24, 2015, 08:39:20 am »

Gee, that's encouraging.
Logged

mattu123

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Tidal Music Service via JRiver?
« Reply #59 on: March 12, 2015, 09:27:07 am »

Has anyone tried Bubble UPNP's integration with Tidal?  I'd need to resurrect an android device - otherwise would just try it out.
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 42034
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: Tidal Music Service via JRiver?
« Reply #60 on: March 12, 2015, 09:40:46 am »

We're in the early stages of an integration with Tidal.  However, all their songs return no playback URL and they haven't been able to help us figure out why.  So we're stalled for the time being.
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

Arindelle

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2772
Re: Tidal Music Service via JRiver?
« Reply #61 on: March 17, 2015, 10:53:24 am »

Tidal just released in France and have a 30 day free trial so I'm testing. For some reason the desktop software is not connecting with the server. Anybody else had that issue? The web browser does stream in Flac, as do my phone and tablet. Not sure I like there UI as much as Qobuz or Spotify but whatever ...

Also for info, through their web (browser player) I have had no issues using the wdm driver at all ... just plug and play (using live latency @10 ms and buffer at 50 ms in an audio only streaming zone. Am using JRIver as renderer, though. Are you people using DLNA renderers maybe?
Logged

demoleon

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Tidal Music Service via JRiver?
« Reply #62 on: March 17, 2015, 07:16:19 pm »

Has anyone tried Bubble UPNP's integration with Tidal?  I'd need to resurrect an android device - otherwise would just try it out.

I have been using BubbleUPnP for playing both my JRiver library and Tidal music (and my Google Play Music account.)  So far it works great.  I can use my Android tablet to browse Tidal and play to a JRiver zone.  It is nice to have one app to play my JRiver library, Google and Tidal.  Looking forward to trying the new Android Gizmo but not sure I'll switch from BubbleUPnP as it is so convenient to just use one app.

John
Logged

AndyU

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 363
Re: Tidal Music Service via JRiver?
« Reply #63 on: March 18, 2015, 04:30:00 am »

We're in the early stages of an integration with Tidal.  However, all their songs return no playback URL and they haven't been able to help us figure out why.  So we're stalled for the time being.

Good news. Thanks for giving it a shot. 
Logged

holzmann

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Tidal Music Service via JRiver?
« Reply #64 on: March 20, 2015, 09:37:17 am »

I just registered to bump this. JRiver was made to put all of our music in one place and let us hear it better than ever. TIDAL is the streaming future IMO (forget Pandora and Spotify as yesterday's news) and I bet that discerning audiophiles who like JRiver also like TIDAL and vice-versa. A lot of customer commonality! I can only urge JRiver and Tidal to become official partners, work together, and get TIDAL to work seamlessly through JRiver MC.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71619
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Tidal Music Service via JRiver?
« Reply #65 on: March 20, 2015, 09:59:00 am »

Anyone who wants Tidal should bug Tidal about it.  We've spent a lot of time working on it, even had some help from Tidal, but it appears that their interface doesn't work in the U.S.  They seem puzzled by this.
Logged

Arindelle

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2772
Re: Tidal Music Service via JRiver?
« Reply #66 on: March 20, 2015, 11:06:21 am »

Anyone who wants Tidal should bug Tidal about it.  We've spent a lot of time working on it, even had some help from Tidal, but it appears that their interface doesn't work in the U.S.  They seem puzzled by this.

I have one of those 30 day trial going (from France) -- their desktop app wasn't working; wrote a ticket and they debugged/updated it today. The web browser worked right away. What is different about US internet from european internet?! seems weird; maybe a different interface or client app? just for the US? Otherwise try again with the modified desktop client -- with the time lag it, if it is not different, you should have it today in the US.

Here's a screen shot ...



(very spartan the Tidal config UI, but JRiver driver shows up --- Qobuz has much more fine tuning capabilities like buffer and latency

I'm wondering if it has something to do with device configuration. Try WASAPI generic out from the realtek (or other mobo out) bit-depth on automatic - avoiding ASIO or special bit-depth configurations; no convolution filters etc. just to rule somethings out empirically?

euh not meaning to patronize guys but just in case for new users, remember that the JRiver UI or at least the media server has to be running, otherwise there will be no sound as the default device set in WIndows is the JRiver 20 driver

I'm far from an expert on these things, but I have set up separate audio zones in over 10 peoples computers here for Qobuz and Tidal and no issues once the output was WASPI  (a special driver using ASIO for PSAudio DAC didn't work, but the realtek using WASAPI on automatic did for the same DAC). Seems pretty strange that they would have different set-ups in geographically.

Only one person I know had problems that I couldn' sort, but he has a home-made digital preamp, 4-way monoblocks, lots of cross over filters etc. Take with a grain of salt, but
Logged

mojave

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3732
  • Requires "iTunes or better" so I installed JRiver
Re: Tidal Music Service via JRiver?
« Reply #67 on: March 20, 2015, 11:30:30 am »

I have one of those 30 day trial going (from France) -- their desktop app wasn't working; wrote a ticket and they debugged/updated it today. The web browser worked right away. What is different about US internet from european internet?! seems weird; maybe a different interface or client app? just for the US? Otherwise try again with the modified desktop client -- with the time lag it, if it is not different, you should have it today in the US.
Jim is talking about integrating Tidal within JRiver. Direct access to the files and browsing them just like you do the rest of your library. Even having a playlist which includes some local files and some Tidal files.

The Tidal app works perfectly fine in the US with the WDM driver.
Logged

Arindelle

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2772
Re: Tidal Music Service via JRiver?
« Reply #68 on: March 20, 2015, 11:32:49 am »

Jim is talking about integrating Tidal within JRiver. Direct access to the files and browsing them just like you do the rest of your library. Even having a playlist which includes some local files and some Tidal files.

The Tidal app works perfectly fine in the US with the WDM driver.
ah ok thanks for the clarification :)
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 42034
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: Tidal Music Service via JRiver?
« Reply #69 on: April 06, 2015, 03:32:41 pm »

We got the playback URLs working today!

I think we'll have a 'Play Tidal Radio...' feature in a coming build that plays the top tracks from the entered (or selected) artist.
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

Awesome Donkey

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 7452
  • When Summer comes...
Re: Tidal Music Service via JRiver?
« Reply #70 on: April 06, 2015, 06:47:53 pm »

Great news! Good work guys!
Logged
I don't work for JRiver... I help keep the forums safe from Viagra and other sources of sketchy pharmaceuticals.

Windows 11 2024 Update (24H2) 64-bit + Ubuntu 24.04 LTS Noble Numbat 64-bit | Windows 11 2024 Update (24H2) 64-bit (Intel N305 Fanless NUC 32GB RAM/500GB M.2 NVMe SSD)
JRiver Media Center 32 (Windows + Linux) | iFi ZEN DAC 3 | JBL 306P MkII Studio Monitors | Audio-Technica ATH-M50x Headphones

mojave

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3732
  • Requires "iTunes or better" so I installed JRiver
Re: Tidal Music Service via JRiver?
« Reply #71 on: April 06, 2015, 07:13:41 pm »

Awesome!
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71619
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Tidal Music Service via JRiver?
« Reply #72 on: April 06, 2015, 08:00:25 pm »

It's not done yet.  Tidal's representative now says we need to get their approval before we can release anything.  It doesn't seem worth the trouble.
Logged

Trumpetguy

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 974
Re: Tidal Music Service via JRiver?
« Reply #73 on: April 07, 2015, 06:11:19 am »

From a MC user's perspective, it is  ;)
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71619
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Tidal Music Service via JRiver?
« Reply #74 on: April 07, 2015, 08:49:51 am »

Logged
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Up