INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Converting DFF to FLAC fails  (Read 5791 times)

Vincent Kars

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 1154
Converting DFF to FLAC fails
« on: November 25, 2014, 02:42:52 pm »

Tried to convert a DFF to FLAC
JRiver creates a Temporary Convert File - 4548.flac but it is and remains empty
File plays without a problem

Log is in the attachment

Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 42029
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: Converting DFF to FLAC fails
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2014, 04:00:28 pm »

Could you try enabling DSP Studio and set the sample rate to 44,100.  Does that make it work?
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

Vincent Kars

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 1154
Re: Converting DFF to FLAC fails
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2014, 04:06:36 pm »

Unfortunately not

Thx
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 42029
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: Converting DFF to FLAC fails
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2014, 04:14:13 pm »

0020828: 5128: Encoders: CFlacEncoder::StartBufferBased: Initializing the encoder with the following settings:
0020828: 5128: Encoders: CFlacEncoder::StartBufferBased: bits per sample = 24
0020828: 5128: Encoders: CFlacEncoder::StartBufferBased: verify          = True
0020828: 5128: Encoders: CFlacEncoder::StartBufferBased: ERROR - Failed to init

Strange.

However, this makes me wonder if DSP is actually on:
0020828: 5128: Playback: CAutoConfigureAudioOutput::GetOutputFormat: 1.4MHz 64bit 2ch

Does the APE encoder work?
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

Vincent Kars

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 1154
Re: Converting DFF to FLAC fails
« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2014, 04:29:53 pm »

Settings are in the attachment

APE takes substantial time to finish but  don't see any output (*.ape)
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 42029
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: Converting DFF to FLAC fails
« Reply #5 on: November 25, 2014, 04:31:38 pm »

Settings are in the attachment

APE takes substantial time to finish but  don't see any output (*.ape)


Set all sample rates to 44,100.  I'm not sure which one the input is.
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

Vincent Kars

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 1154
Re: Converting DFF to FLAC fails
« Reply #6 on: November 25, 2014, 04:47:05 pm »

I did, now I have a APE

JRiver reports this file as 22579 kbs single bit 2 channel 11289600 HZ so a 256 DSD
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 42029
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: Converting DFF to FLAC fails
« Reply #7 on: November 25, 2014, 04:58:26 pm »

And what if you try a FLAC at 44,100?
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

Vincent Kars

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 1154
Re: Converting DFF to FLAC fails
« Reply #8 on: November 25, 2014, 05:03:23 pm »

Works, now I have 24/44 FLAC as well
Does it help if I send you the DFF?
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 42029
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: Converting DFF to FLAC fails
« Reply #9 on: November 25, 2014, 05:05:56 pm »

So try working the sample rate up slowly until it fails.  At what rate does it fail?
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

Vincent Kars

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 1154
Re: Converting DFF to FLAC fails
« Reply #10 on: November 25, 2014, 05:16:19 pm »

If I set everything to 384 it works, get a meaty 2 ch 24 384 flac
If I set everything to No Change it doesn't work
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 42029
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: Converting DFF to FLAC fails
« Reply #11 on: November 26, 2014, 09:45:29 pm »

If I set everything to 384 it works, get a meaty 2 ch 24 384 flac
If I set everything to No Change it doesn't work


Well I guess the solution is to pick 384 for the time being.  We'll see if we can reproduce and figure out the root cause.  Maybe it's just picking much too high of a sample rate, since that's the source rate?
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

Hendrik

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10772
Re: Converting DFF to FLAC fails
« Reply #12 on: November 27, 2014, 06:48:02 am »

FLAC only supports up to 655350 Hz sample rate. 11289600 Hz is simply too high.
Also, using such sample rates for PCM will also result in enormous files, so its always a good idea to resample them.
Logged
~ nevcairiel
~ Author of LAV Filters

Vincent Kars

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 1154
Re: Converting DFF to FLAC fails
« Reply #13 on: November 27, 2014, 07:12:16 am »

I agree
Some weeks ago I converted some single bit files (.dff or  .dsf) to PCM
Indeed this yielded a very big 24/384 file.
What set me wrong footed was that it worked without a flaw (no DSP studio needed)
Hence I thought JRiver was having a problem as it failed to convert the current one and didnít raise an error.

Raising a warning when converting single bit to PCM would be an improvement
Even better: in case of converting single bit to PCM JRiver suggest an appropriate PCM equivalent.

BTW: looking at the format conversion in DSP studio, it is only about converting PCM to PCM
What about adding the single bit formats as well maybe including a conversion to PCM?
Might get a bit complex at one hand. At the other hand all conversion options will be in 1 place

Thanks
Logged

dtc

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3027
Re: Converting DFF to FLAC fails
« Reply #14 on: November 28, 2014, 01:12:01 pm »

I am still on MC 19, but I just realized that there are two different DSP conversion tables -   one for converting files and  for playback. The tables look the same, but, at least on my system, they have different values. I think that might explain why I sometimes get files converted at different rates that I expect. I am not sure if this also applies to other DSP options.

I also like the idea of having spots in the tables for 2.8 MHz and 5.6 MHZ. Having just one entry for > 384 KHz means I have to change the defaults if I want to convert 2.8 MHz and 5.6 MHz to different PCM sample rates.

Again, I am on MC 19, so these two points may have change on 20.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up