INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: JRiver Linux as Server and Renderer  (Read 4810 times)

shadowlight

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 69
JRiver Linux as Server and Renderer
« on: December 29, 2014, 06:33:57 pm »

Hello,

Does any one have a setup where JRiver is setup as both server and renderer?  If yes, can you share your config/screen shots.  I want to setup a fan less pc in my setup with the heavy lifting being done by another server outside of the room.  I thought all I needed to do was setup the server as DLNA server and start MC on the fan less pc and the renderer will show up as another zone on the server and with JRemote I could just point where to play music on.

TIA
Logged

shadowlight

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Re: JRiver Linux as Server and Renderer
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2014, 07:11:16 pm »

Bob, Jim, Matt,

Any help?
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71471
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: JRiver Linux as Server and Renderer
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2014, 03:01:08 am »

It isn't clear which machine will do what.

If you want to play to the server, make sure you have Media Network on, then enter the access key on the client.  Play to "Player" under Playing Now.

The wiki has a lot of information on this.  Start at Media Network.
Logged

shadowlight

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Re: JRiver Linux as Server and Renderer
« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2014, 01:02:14 pm »

Jim,

I am trying to use two instances of JRiver.  One is setup as Media Network Server, which will convert everything over to DSD and send a stream to the second instance of JRiver.  The setup that I am trying to achieve is similar to what Id with existing spare pc that I have.  I have the Media portion working but my second system does not show up on my JRemote or main server to send traffic to which is the configuration that I am missing.

I have followed information from Media Network and DLNA

Thx
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71471
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: JRiver Linux as Server and Renderer
« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2015, 02:32:27 am »

Are both machines running Linux?

Firewalls can block access.
Logged

shadowlight

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Re: JRiver Linux as Server and Renderer
« Reply #5 on: January 01, 2015, 07:10:16 am »

Are both machines running Linux?

Firewalls can block access.

Both running Linux and no firewall in place.  Will start over again to make sure that I did not miss anything.
Logged

mwillems

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 5177
  • "Linux Merit Badge" Recipient
Re: JRiver Linux as Server and Renderer
« Reply #6 on: January 01, 2015, 02:12:11 pm »

Have you made sure that "DLNA renderer" is checked under the advanced options under media network on the computer you want to control, and that "DLNA controller" is checked under the advanced options on the computer you want to use as a control point?
Logged

shadowlight

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Re: JRiver Linux as Server and Renderer
« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2015, 12:19:43 pm »

Ok, finally got the barebone system to show up.  Now on to the next step.

The master server is JRiver on Windows with the Linux box as renderer. 

JRiver (Windows) system will convert everything to DSD and forward stuff to Linux box.  What settings do I need on the Linux system?
Logged

mwillems

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 5177
  • "Linux Merit Badge" Recipient
Re: JRiver Linux as Server and Renderer
« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2015, 12:29:27 pm »

I have no experience with DSD so hopefully someone with DSD experience will chime in, but my recollection is that native DSD output support (at the driver/operating system level) was not yet "all there" in the Linux OS.  It was supposed to be implemented in kernel 3.18, but most linux distros are nowhere near 3.18 yet (unless you're running Arch). http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=93658.0.  It may be that you could do DOP (but maybe not over HDMI):

http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=93518.0
http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=93991.0

The main settings to focus on on the Linux box are the "client" settings under media network, and the output format settings under DSP studio.  
Logged

Awesome Donkey

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 7403
  • The color of Spring...
Re: JRiver Linux as Server and Renderer
« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2015, 03:24:52 pm »

If you're using Ubuntu you can install the 3.18.x kernels from the Ubuntu mainline PPA. That's what I do in addition to running Mesa Git builds.
Logged
I don't work for JRiver... I help keep the forums safe from Viagra and other sources of sketchy pharmaceuticals.

Windows 11 2024 Update (24H2) 64-bit + Ubuntu 24.04 LTS Noble Numbat 64-bit | Windows 11 2023 Update (23H2) 64-bit (Intel N305 Fanless NUC 16GB RAM/256GB NVMe SSD)
JRiver Media Center 32 (Windows + Linux) | iFi ZEN DAC 3 | Edifier R2000DB Bookshelf Speakers | Audio-Technica ATH-M50x Headphones

shadowlight

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Re: JRiver Linux as Server and Renderer
« Reply #10 on: January 31, 2015, 11:25:04 am »

Here are the settings on my control/server JRiver instance under DLNA Servers Advanced Section and I am not 100% sure that I have it setup correctly to convert everything to 2xDSD and forward to Linux based renderer.

Audio - Specified output format
Format: PCM 24bit
Advanced: Sample Rate: Same as Source
DSP Studio --> Output Format --> 2xDSD in DoP format


Configuration on Client Side --> Client Options

Auto sync with Server is checked
Show playback zones from the server on the client checked
Audio Conversion --> Conversion: Don't convert audio
Encoder: PCM 24bit
Logged

shadowlight

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Re: JRiver Linux as Server and Renderer
« Reply #11 on: February 03, 2015, 08:22:43 am »

^ Is my setup correct for DSD traffic?
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13526
Re: JRiver Linux as Server and Renderer
« Reply #12 on: February 04, 2015, 03:51:08 pm »

^ Is my setup correct for DSD traffic?
MC doesn't do DSD conversion over DLNA.
You are putting out 24 bit PCM. The DoPE flag is meaningless in this scenario since it only applies to unconverted DSD.
Logged

shadowlight

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Re: JRiver Linux as Server and Renderer
« Reply #13 on: February 04, 2015, 10:29:51 pm »

MC doesn't do DSD conversion over DLNA.
You are putting out 24 bit PCM. The DoPE flag is meaningless in this scenario since it only applies to unconverted DSD.


Thx for that information.  What is the optimal configuration to convert everything to PCM 384-bit in the 2 pc setup that I have (they are on two separate floors) and is there a way for me to get DSD working with the current setup.  The Linux system hooked up to the DAC is 4th gen i3 which most likely does not have the horse power to conver everything on the fly.
Logged

shadowlight

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Re: JRiver Linux as Server and Renderer
« Reply #14 on: February 04, 2015, 10:32:20 pm »

If you're using Ubuntu you can install the 3.18.x kernels from the Ubuntu mainline PPA. That's what I do in addition to running Mesa Git builds.

Do I need to install updated ALSA packages also if I get the 3.18.x kernels installed?
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13526
Re: JRiver Linux as Server and Renderer
« Reply #15 on: February 05, 2015, 09:47:20 am »

Thx for that information.  What is the optimal configuration to convert everything to PCM 384-bit in the 2 pc setup that I have (they are on two separate floors) and is there a way for me to get DSD working with the current setup.  The Linux system hooked up to the DAC is 4th gen i3 which most likely does not have the horse power to convert everything on the fly.
Going to PCM really isn't a conversion, it's just decoding the original format. Resampling will use some hp but I'd think the i3 could handle it. Why don't you give it a try? Just set the DSP studio on the linux system to resample everything to 384k and see if it works.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up