INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: DTS-HD decoder  (Read 10493 times)

Adhara

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
DTS-HD decoder
« on: April 26, 2015, 01:18:10 pm »

Quote
6. NEW: Full support for native DTS-HD decoding.

Where does the library is stored ?
I always used the one from Arcsoft. Is there any way to choose which one to use ?
It only supports DTS HD or Dolby HD too ? Thanks
Logged

rudyrednose

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 344
  • nothing more to say...
DTS-HD decoder
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2015, 07:34:18 am »

6. NEW: Full support for native DTS-HD decoding.

Does this means that dtsdecoder.dll from Arcsoft TMT is no longer required ?
Thank you for the regular improvements !
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 41983
  • Shoes gone again!
DTS-HD decoder
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2015, 07:59:33 am »

Does this means that dtsdecoder.dll from Arcsoft TMT is no longer required ?

Right.  We still use it if it exists, so I'd recommend erasing it.
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

styxx10

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 93
DTS-HD decoder
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2015, 08:47:44 am »

"""Right.  We still use it if it exists, so I'd recommend erasing it.""


Does this make sense to others  ,or am I reading this wrong ?....
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71493
  • Where did I put my teeth?
DTS-HD decoder
« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2015, 09:43:07 am »

Does this means that dtsdecoder.dll from Arcsoft TMT is no longer required ?
Remove it.  You don't need it.
Logged

Adhara

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
DTS-HD decoder
« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2015, 11:46:47 am »

Right.  We still use it if it exists, so I'd recommend erasing it.

Thanks! Working for Dolby HD too or just for DTS HD ?
Logged

glynor

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 19608
Re: DTS-HD decoder
« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2015, 12:24:09 pm »

MC has been able to do Dolby TrueHD for a long time now.  Since Red October used LAV anyway.
Logged
"Some cultures are defined by their relationship to cheese."

Visit me on the Interweb Thingie: http://glynor.com/

glynor

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 19608
Re: DTS-HD decoder
« Reply #7 on: April 28, 2015, 01:02:16 pm »

Logged
"Some cultures are defined by their relationship to cheese."

Visit me on the Interweb Thingie: http://glynor.com/

pfm555

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
Re: DTS-HD decoder
« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2015, 06:38:54 am »

First off great work on getting MC to handle DTS-HD natively. Now I would like to know how to get this to work properly. when I set bitstreaming to none(recommended) play a movie in the audio path I see  the input says 48 hz 24 bit 6ch from source format DTS-HD. in the output I see 48HZ 24bit (padded) 6 ch using WASAPI (direct connection). Is this what I should be seeing?  My Onkyo PR-SC 5507 does not light up the DTS-HD like it does when I have bitstreaming set to HDMI. Is this correct? My computer is windows 8.1 with  an AMD 6850. HDMI going from AMD to Onkyo.
Logged

glynor

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 19608
Re: DTS-HD decoder
« Reply #9 on: April 29, 2015, 06:51:05 am »

Yes. That is correct.
Logged
"Some cultures are defined by their relationship to cheese."

Visit me on the Interweb Thingie: http://glynor.com/

CountryBumkin

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3352
Re: DTS-HD decoder
« Reply #10 on: April 29, 2015, 07:23:12 am »

My Onkyo PR-SC 5507 does not light up the DTS-HD like it does when I have bitstreaming set to HDMI. Is this correct? My computer is windows 8.1 with  an AMD 6850. HDMI going from AMD to Onkyo.

When you bitstream the receiver (the Onkyo) does the processing/decoding so the lights "come on". When you turn bitstreaming off, JRiver does the processing - which also allows you apply DSP and VideoClock. http://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Blu-ray#Bitstreaming
Logged

hollidayjr

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Never Give Up
Re: DTS-HD decoder
« Reply #11 on: April 29, 2015, 07:32:02 am »

What does the padded mean--48HZ 24bit (padded)?
Logged

Hendrik

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10738
Re: DTS-HD decoder
« Reply #12 on: April 29, 2015, 07:32:33 am »

You don't have to worry about that, it just means your audio device likes 24-bit audio in that special format.
Logged
~ nevcairiel
~ Author of LAV Filters

pfm555

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
Re: DTS-HD decoder
« Reply #13 on: April 29, 2015, 07:36:14 am »

Thanks for the quick response. So right now the Onkyo defaults to Multichannel-(This mode is for use with PCM multichannel sources). Should I set it to default on the Onkyo to either of the two below for best sound reproduction.

Pure Audio In this mode, the display and video circuitry are turned off, minimizing possible noise sources for the ultimate in high-fidelity reproduction. (As the video circuitry is turned off, only video signals input through HDMI IN can be output.)

Direct In this mode, audio from the input source is output directly with minimal processing, providing high-fidelity reproduction. All of the source’s audio channels are output as they are.
Logged

csimon

  • Regular Member
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 1686
Re: DTS-HD decoder
« Reply #14 on: April 29, 2015, 08:04:48 am »

Pure Audio In this mode, the display and video circuitry are turned off, minimizing possible noise sources for the ultimate in high-fidelity reproduction. (As the video circuitry is turned off, only video signals input through HDMI IN can be output.)

If you hear a difference and you prefer it then set it that way.

Quote
Direct In this mode, audio from the input source is output directly with minimal processing, providing high-fidelity reproduction. All of the source’s audio channels are output as they are.

This mode will disallow you from making any audio adjustments on the amp.  Again, try it, and if you hear a difference and prefer it then leave it like that.

These modes are subjective and it's up to you whether you can hear any difference when amplifier circuitry is turned off, which can depend on your own hearing, room ambience, characteristics of your speakers and cabling and the quality of components in your amp, and whether you prefer that difference.
Logged

tyler69

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 946
Re: DTS-HD decoder
« Reply #15 on: April 30, 2015, 01:50:48 am »

Does the new decoder decode correctly regardless of source ? As far as I remember different versions of the dtsdecoder.dll had some problems with correctly decoding  e.g. 7.1 or 1.0 sources.
Logged

Hendrik

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10738
Re: DTS-HD decoder
« Reply #16 on: April 30, 2015, 02:01:48 am »

Does the new decoder decode correctly regardless of source ? As far as I remember different versions of the dtsdecoder.dll had some problems with correctly decoding  e.g. 7.1 or 1.0 sources.

There are no known problems with the decoder. If you find any, we would be very interested to hear about them!
Logged
~ nevcairiel
~ Author of LAV Filters

tyler69

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 946
Re: DTS-HD decoder
« Reply #17 on: April 30, 2015, 02:08:17 am »

Thanks for the quick reply. So the problems discussed here: http://forum.doom9.org/archive/index.php/t-171553.html are no issue in your decoder?
Logged

Hendrik

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10738
Re: DTS-HD decoder
« Reply #18 on: April 30, 2015, 02:26:39 am »

Why would they? its an entirely different decoder.
Logged
~ nevcairiel
~ Author of LAV Filters

Manfred

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 1023
Re: DTS-HD decoder
« Reply #19 on: April 30, 2015, 05:03:06 am »

I removed the arcsoft dts-Hd yesterday. The new one coming with JRiver works perfect and to me sounds better (downmix to Stereo, Tested with Devialet D-200)
Logged
WS (AMD Ryzen 7 5700G, 32 GB DDR4-3200, 2x2 TB SDD, LG 34UC98-W)-USB|ADI-2 DAC FS|Canton AM5 - File Server (i3-3.9 GHz, 16GB ECC DDR4-2400, 46 TB disk space) - Media Renderer (i3-3.8 GHz, 8GB DDR4-2133, GTX 960)-USB|Devialet D220 Pro|Audeze LCD 2|B&W 804S|LG 4K OLED )

Adhara

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
Re: DTS-HD decoder
« Reply #20 on: May 01, 2015, 06:39:56 am »

Il there any way to see which decoder jriver uses during playback ?
I removed the arcsoft dll but still see the same informations on audio path.
Logged

phusis

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
  • Multum in parvo
Re: DTS-HD decoder
« Reply #21 on: May 04, 2015, 08:02:44 pm »

I removed the arcsoft dts-Hd yesterday. The new one coming with JRiver works perfect and to me sounds better (downmix to Stereo, Tested with Devialet D-200)

My findings as well. Moreover, the particular iteration of Arcsoft's decoder I used previously could not play back DTS-HD Mono tracks, but this has been solved with JRiver's own decoder. And indeed, the JRiver decoder sounds better (also via downmix to stereo).

Great work, Hendrik (and team).  
Logged

phusis

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
  • Multum in parvo
Re: DTS-HD decoder
« Reply #22 on: May 04, 2015, 08:09:15 pm »

Il there any way to see which decoder jriver uses during playback ?
I removed the arcsoft dll but still see the same informations on audio path.

If you removed the Arcsoft dll from the proper folder you're using the JRiver decoder (from build .100 and forward).

The audio path information should be the same, or so I gather.
Logged

glynor

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 19608
Re: DTS-HD decoder
« Reply #23 on: May 04, 2015, 10:00:04 pm »

Il there any way to see which decoder jriver uses during playback ?

Yes. Right-click (on the playing video) > DirectShow Filters

I removed the arcsoft dll but still see the same informations on audio path.

That's what you want.
Logged
"Some cultures are defined by their relationship to cheese."

Visit me on the Interweb Thingie: http://glynor.com/

mojave

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3732
  • Requires "iTunes or better" so I installed JRiver
Re: DTS-HD decoder
« Reply #24 on: May 04, 2015, 10:48:11 pm »

Yes. Right-click (on the playing video) > DirectShow Filters
The filters listed and the graph copied to clipboard will show LAV Audio Decoder regardless of which DTS-HD decoder is being used.
Logged

glynor

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 19608
Re: DTS-HD decoder
« Reply #25 on: May 04, 2015, 11:08:02 pm »

The filters listed and the graph copied to clipboard will show LAV Audio Decoder regardless of which DTS-HD decoder is being used.

I wondered about that.  What about if you copy the graph to the clipboard?

EDIT: Nah, I just checked. Makes sense, of course, since LAV Audio was "using" the 3rd party decoder.
Logged
"Some cultures are defined by their relationship to cheese."

Visit me on the Interweb Thingie: http://glynor.com/
Pages: [1]   Go Up