INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MC installed in Linux LMDE1 but won't run.  (Read 3998 times)

ClumsyGargoyle

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
MC installed in Linux LMDE1 but won't run.
« on: May 07, 2015, 10:03:38 am »

I'm a newby to both Linux and JRiver MC, but I'd been using the trial version of MC on Linux LMDE1 and decided to pay for the full version. This downloaded OK and appeared to install in the usual way, but it hasn't overwritten the trial version (now expired) so I'm stuck. Any ideas please? (Oh, and please note that although I've started the Linux Foundation Course most of the jargon is opaque to me so please explain as if instructing a complete beginner!).
Logged

mwillems

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 5177
  • "Linux Merit Badge" Recipient
Re: MC installed in Linux LMDE1 but won't run.
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2015, 10:29:43 am »

You have to install the license you received when you purchased MC (there's a step by step in the mint tutorial sticky thread, linked below):

https://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=87051.msg595720#msg595720
https://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=95014.0
Logged

ClumsyGargoyle

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: MC installed in Linux LMDE1 but won't run.
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2015, 07:34:38 am »

Thanks for that, MWILLEMS, but I'm sorry to say that the command line you suggest results in the message 'file not recognised'  or 'not found'. I'm confused as to what the term 'registration code' refers to, but I started with copying the address of the .mjr file that arrived with the download into the 'RestoreFromFile' command sequence - this results in 'file not found'. I then used the 'Registration Code' ( a completely different sequence of numbers and letters) that arrived in an email from JRiver - this results in 'file not recognised'.
So I'm still stuck. Incidentally the JRIver tutorial webpages also doesn't recognise this 'Registration Code' so I can't get on there either. Please note that I'm using Linux LMDE1 which the post you directed me to says is not yet catered for by a MC20 release (although the JRiver website did not notify me of this or I might have thought twice about buying it)! Any help would be much appreciated.   
Logged

mwillems

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 5177
  • "Linux Merit Badge" Recipient
Re: MC installed in Linux LMDE1 but won't run.
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2015, 09:00:02 am »

Thanks for that, MWILLEMS, but I'm sorry to say that the command line you suggest results in the message 'file not recognised'  or 'not found'. I'm confused as to what the term 'registration code' refers to, but I started with copying the address of the .mjr file that arrived with the download into the 'RestoreFromFile' command sequence - this results in 'file not found'.

You need to find the location that you downloaded the .mjr file onto your computer and use that in the restore from file prompt.  "File not found" means you haven't given a valid path/location (that's what any linux command line utility will say when you give it an invalid filepath). 

If you can tell me the directory in which you saved the .mjr file to your hard drive, I can help you tailor the command line. 


Quote
Please note that I'm using Linux LMDE1 which the post you directed me to says is not yet catered for by a MC20 release (although the JRiver website did not notify me of this or I might have thought twice about buying it)! Any help would be much appreciated.   

The only officially supported distro is 32-bit debian wheezy.  All other distros are unsupported, but people have gotten MC on running on almost every other distro including LMDE.  That's what the long "how to" threads are for.  The reason that thread calls out LMDE specifically is some folks have gotten confused because vanilla debian is supported, but LMDE is not.  But LMDE is not "more" unsupported than regular mint or ubuntu, and Mediacenter works just fine on all Mint varietals.
Logged

ClumsyGargoyle

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: MC installed in Linux LMDE1 but won't run.
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2015, 04:25:21 am »

Thanks - I'm beginning (I think) to understand a little of this.
The .mjr file is in my 'Downloads' folder. I can click on it and do 'copy' and then I paste this into the terminal where your instructions ask for it. But it would appear that I need to do more than this.
I don't yet know how to ensure I've got the correct address, so if you can help here that would be great!
Some light is appearing at the end of the tunnel!


Logged

mwillems

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 5177
  • "Linux Merit Badge" Recipient
Re: MC installed in Linux LMDE1 but won't run.
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2015, 07:24:16 am »

If it's in your downloads folder, then your command should look like:

Code: [Select]
mediacenter20 /RestoreFromFile ~/Downloads/"Media Center20 Linux-YYYYYY.mjr"
You need to replace the Y's with the actual numbers from your files.  Just carefully transcribe them from the name of the file (don't use copy and paste type it out).  

Two things that you need to understand about linux/the terminal:

1) Spaces or certain other special characters in file names will confuse the terminal unless you enclose the file name in quotes (as shown above) or take certain other steps.
2) Linux file names are case-sensitive.  That means that you must reproduce all capital letters the exact same way they appear in the file system. For example, if you have a directory called "Downloads", if you try to refer to it as "downloads" the terminal will tell you "file not found"

If the above command doesn't work, open a terminal in your Downloads folder and post the output of the command
Code: [Select]
pwd
Logged

ClumsyGargoyle

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: MC installed in Linux LMDE1 but won't run.
« Reply #6 on: May 29, 2015, 05:24:47 am »

Thanks mwillems. I've done just as you suggested. Command Line then displayed a notification which I didn't understand but which contained phrases such as 'not found'. I remembered that the license key expires after fourteen days, so I went on to the jriver site and did what was necessary to get another one. Then repeated the whole performance. This time something was going on, because I got no error messages, but after a few seconds a '>' symbol appeared at the terminal. I tried the jriver icon on by bar and just got the trial version which tells me it has expired. Although at the time I paid for it I followed the steps to install the paid-for version I don't seem to have a separate icon for this. Is it even installed?

Any suggestions?
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71470
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: MC installed in Linux LMDE1 but won't run.
« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2015, 05:57:07 am »

Make sure you have MC20 installed.
Logged

Awesome Donkey

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 7402
  • The color of Spring...
Re: MC installed in Linux LMDE1 but won't run.
« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2015, 08:18:32 am »

When I did tests on LMDE1 several months ago, I couldn't get MC20 running successfully - it does work beautifully in LMDE2. For anyone else using LMDE1 you might want to try the test build found in this topic but since it seems like you've got the main program running we'll continue to your issue.

Thanks mwillems. I've done just as you suggested. Command Line then displayed a notification which I didn't understand but which contained phrases such as 'not found'. I remembered that the license key expires after fourteen days, so I went on to the jriver site and did what was necessary to get another one. Then repeated the whole performance. This time something was going on, because I got no error messages, but after a few seconds a '>' symbol appeared at the terminal. I tried the jriver icon on by bar and just got the trial version which tells me it has expired. Although at the time I paid for it I followed the steps to install the paid-for version I don't seem to have a separate icon for this. Is it even installed?

Okay, do you have the .mjr file? If so, just type in the following;

Code: [Select]
mediacenter20 /RestoreFromFile
And put a space after /RestoreFromFile then drag the .mjr file into the Terminal, and press Enter. It *should* license MC20 correctly then - if not, please post the exact error(s) if any appear in the Terminal. If it doesn't work, it might be missing the correct path to the CA files which is needed for MC to connect to the license server... but we need to know the exact error(s) first, if any occur.

Also, to run MC20 just type the following into the Terminal;

Code: [Select]
mediacenter20
If any errors appear in the Terminal when running MC20, please post them. If there's errors when running mediacenter20, you might want to try installing the test build linked in the topic found here. :)

Now, as an absolute last resort, you can try enabling the copy and paste buffers and copying your license into MC20 itself when it prompts for it.
Logged
I don't work for JRiver... I help keep the forums safe from Viagra and other sources of sketchy pharmaceuticals.

Windows 11 2024 Update (24H2) 64-bit + Ubuntu 24.04 LTS Noble Numbat 64-bit | Windows 11 2023 Update (23H2) 64-bit (Intel N305 Fanless NUC 16GB RAM/256GB NVMe SSD)
JRiver Media Center 32 (Windows + Linux) | iFi ZEN DAC 3 | Edifier R2000DB Bookshelf Speakers | Audio-Technica ATH-M50x Headphones

tlcmd

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 261
  • nothing more to say...
Re: MC installed in Linux LMDE1 but won't run.
« Reply #9 on: May 29, 2015, 01:43:54 pm »

Just an FYI, but LMDE2 (Betsy) is now out. However, MC 20 worked fine on both LMDE1 and LMDE2 for me. I am running a HP Envy with the Athlon quad core chip, 12 Gigs of RAM, and a 2 TiB HDD. I did upgrade just recently MC20.0.110 ARD 64 (for Jessie), but not the test build. I have partitioned the HDD and actually have a small Windows 8.1 partition since the computer came with it, and two 800+ Gig partitions for both LMDE1 and LMDE2. I'm trying to add files to LMDE 2 in a much more orderly fashion from the other two. I am using reFInd (free) as my boot manager so I can boot to either of the 3 OS's. I plan to remove the LMDE1 as soon as I get things moved out of it.

Hope this helps.
tlcmd
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up