INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Increase upnp buffer size?  (Read 3153 times)

dennis_k85

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Increase upnp buffer size?
« on: August 04, 2015, 11:06:05 am »

Where is the buffer size set for a uPnp device in JRiver 20? I can't seem to find it in the device settings.

Dennis
Logged

AndrewFG

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3392
Re: Increase upnp buffer size???
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2015, 11:30:59 am »

Where is the buffer size set for a uPnp device in JRiver 20? I can't seem to find it in the device settings.

There is no such thing as a UPnP buffer. Perhaps you can explain what is the problem that you are trying to solve.
Logged
Author of Whitebear Digital Media Renderer Analyser - http://www.whitebear.ch/dmra.htm
Author of Whitebear - http://www.whitebear.ch/mediaserver.htm

dennis_k85

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: Increase upnp buffer size???
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2015, 11:33:26 am »

When playing 176.4k files to a uPnp DAC, I get garbage for the first 3 seconds of every sone, then it plays ok.

Dennis
Logged

AndrewFG

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3392
Re: Increase upnp buffer size???
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2015, 11:37:22 am »

Can you please be even more specific? What is the DAC? What kind of files? Are you transcoding? And what kind of network are you using?
Logged
Author of Whitebear Digital Media Renderer Analyser - http://www.whitebear.ch/dmra.htm
Author of Whitebear - http://www.whitebear.ch/mediaserver.htm

dennis_k85

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: Increase upnp buffer size???
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2015, 11:40:40 am »

The DAC is a PSaudio DS. Flac files. No transcoding. Wired ether net.
On a different system and network it work perfectly.  The network is wired the same.
Logged

AndrewFG

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3392
Re: Increase upnp buffer size???
« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2015, 12:11:47 pm »

With that setup, in principle the MC server application can serve the file many times faster than the DAC can play it. Therefore I am thinking that your problem is due to latency on your hard disk. (Especially since you say it works fine on another rig). What is your HDD? Is it built in, or on a USB or NAS connection? Does it spin down on idle? Etc.
Logged
Author of Whitebear Digital Media Renderer Analyser - http://www.whitebear.ch/dmra.htm
Author of Whitebear - http://www.whitebear.ch/mediaserver.htm

dennis_k85

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: Increase upnp buffer size???
« Reply #6 on: August 04, 2015, 12:15:30 pm »

The hard drive in the not working case is an internal SSD drive.

Dennis
Logged

AndrewFG

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3392
Re: Increase upnp buffer size?
« Reply #7 on: August 04, 2015, 03:06:01 pm »

Ok. Then I am out of suggestions.
Logged
Author of Whitebear Digital Media Renderer Analyser - http://www.whitebear.ch/dmra.htm
Author of Whitebear - http://www.whitebear.ch/mediaserver.htm

dennis_k85

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: Increase upnp buffer size?
« Reply #8 on: August 04, 2015, 03:07:11 pm »

Thanks
Logged

CountryBumkin

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3352
Re: Increase upnp buffer size?
« Reply #9 on: August 04, 2015, 05:00:19 pm »

Could you be running some anti-virus program that is trying to scan each file as you try to play it?
Logged

dennis_k85

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: Increase upnp buffer size?
« Reply #10 on: August 04, 2015, 05:03:56 pm »

I don't think so, I'll check when I get home

Dennis
Logged

dennis_k85

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: Increase upnp buffer size?
« Reply #11 on: August 04, 2015, 05:32:25 pm »

Nope no anti-virus programs running.

Dennis
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up