INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Gizmo not connecting automatically  (Read 2320 times)

skarsol

  • Regular Member
  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 202
  • Change this by choosing profile
Gizmo not connecting automatically
« on: June 15, 2015, 09:19:20 am »

A large percentage of the time (especially when it is started automatically, like from a command from my watch) Gizmo will hang at "Connecting..." with a cancel button. If I hit cancel and then Go, it connects quickly, and none of the messages in that process are "Connecting...". Is there a way to see why it's getting stuck there? Is this something I can change on the media server end to resolve? I don't see any option in Gizmo to address it.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71603
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Gizmo not connecting automatically
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2015, 11:17:27 am »

The drive on the server may need to spin up.
Logged

skarsol

  • Regular Member
  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 202
  • Change this by choosing profile
Re: Gizmo not connecting automatically
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2015, 01:32:56 pm »

The OS/App drive on the server is SSD. The drives the files are on are spinning disks though, but they never spin down. Would that show in the JRiver logs?

When I manually start Gizmo, it does "Looking up access code" then "Attempting connection to XXXXXX" then "Completing connection". If my connection is spotty, it will go through a cycle of the attempting connection dialogs while it tries different IPs (due to NAT). I only ever see the "Connecting..." dialog when Gizmo is start by a different app/process than me manually touching the icon, and once it is in the "Connecting..." state, it will never resolve until I hit cancel. It seems like it might be taking a different code path when not opened manually?
Logged

skarsol

  • Regular Member
  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 202
  • Change this by choosing profile
Re: Gizmo not connecting automatically
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2015, 11:12:05 am »

FYI I've given up on trying to get music to stream to Gizmo automatically when entering the car.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71603
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Gizmo not connecting automatically
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2015, 11:14:21 am »

Did you ever try telling MC to cache some songs?  It's in the Gizmo settings.
Logged

skarsol

  • Regular Member
  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 202
  • Change this by choosing profile
Re: Gizmo not connecting automatically
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2015, 03:18:31 pm »

Yes, the issue is that I can't get gizmo to connect to my home server automatically most of the time. So regardless of the state of the cache, it never gets there. :P
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up