INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Newbie would appreciate a boost  (Read 5819 times)

silversurfer0116

Newbie would appreciate a boost
« on: August 23, 2015, 08:12:03 pm »

Hi... I'm a newbie to JRiver and computerized music in general.  I have several hundred vinyl albums and CD's that I decided I am going to computerize and after checking things out a bit, I chose JRiver.   I also have a so called audiophile class stereo which was a factor as JRiver seems to be the software of choice for that club.  I have a nice Toshiba laptop with Windows 7 on it that I am using right now, that will probably be my main tool for doing this work.  I plan to use either this laptop or another laptop or tablet to be the "player" for my music through the aforementioned stereo.  In additon I use an Apple iPhone 5S as I like the phone's features, size, and build except for iTunes which is kind of crappy IMHO.  I have a few questions and any input will be appeciated.  Yeah, I tried search at the forums but most of the answers were way dated.

1) I was planning to use WAV files as the format of choice to play through my main home stereo but I take it that WAV files do not support tags so I am probably going with lossless.  I kind of feel that now is the time to make a choice as I do not care to duplicate this work in the future.  All Apple (ALAC) or all other...google? (FLAC).  When my iPhone dies, I will look hard at an android if there is a good, not too big phone out there.  I'm too cheap to dump the phone yet though. Apple seems easier but their our way or the highway 'tude chafes my **s.  Any thoughts on this?