INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Newbie Inquiry - JRiver as Controller Only  (Read 18539 times)

mr_curmudgeon

• Recent member
Newbie Inquiry - JRiver as Controller Only
« on: January 20, 2014, 10:48:40 pm »

Hi folks - as the title clearly states, I'm a JRiver newbie.  Making matters worse; I'm a computer audiophile newbie as well, though I typically understand enough to comprehend the issue.  Before I get too far into JRiver, I was hoping to learn if it can even be used in the way I'm hoping use it.  Hence my question...

Can JRiver be setup as a controller only, not processing or passing the file through it, but just directing playback from a NAS-based server to a renderer or playback other device?

The scenario I envision would be setting up MinimServer on my Synology NAS, and then having something like a Rendu for playback. 

I installed JRiver on a Win8 tablet recently, and would like to set it up to control playback from NAS directly to player, but not have the file streaming through the tablet.  While I've been successful so far in achieving some playback, the file is obviously being passed through the tablet and not directly from NAS to player.  Is there any way to accomplish what I want?

Thanks in advance for any help or ideas!

csimon

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Newbie Inquiry - JRiver as Controller Only
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2014, 05:09:27 am »

I would have thought that if you connect to a DLNA server and a DLNA renderer and use MC as a DLNA controller then it would work as you want. Have you got it all set up that way? Presumably, you would see the NAS server in the Playing Now ==> Playing From list, and the renderer in the Playing Now list, and you need to select each one.  Or have you imported all the media from the NAS into MC's library?