INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Deleting Duplicate Files  (Read 2698 times)

KHorn32Hz

Deleting Duplicate Files
« on: October 23, 2015, 07:11:11 pm »

Importing music files always results in getting duplicate files. I don't want to make a mountain out of a molehill with complicated rules; all I want to do is delete the extra duplicate files. I followed the procedure for deleting duplicate files from JRiverWiki, but nothing worked. Could someone provide a step-by-step procedure for deleting duplicate files that actually works. Keep in mind that I am a novice and I don't speak Geek. Thanks.

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Deleting Duplicate Files
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2015, 02:56:54 am »

If they are truly duplicates, and not two file types for each file, then you may be importing from something like this:

\\location\Music
and
Z:\Music

where they both point to the same location.

In the above example, you could search for Z: and delete the files in MC's library.  Go slowly and try a few before you do very many.

Better might be to fix the import problem and start over by clearing your library.  File > Library ...

Welcome to the forum.

HiFiTubes

« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2015, 02:31:36 am »

I found the native support for this is lacking after many attempts and forum posts. For example, if you choose to filter Duplicates of Album, it doesn't work to show you duplicate albums, you have to further filter down to Name or Duration.

That is one way to find true duplicates. More likely, you will have many duplicates with small naming variation, probably in Album field.

This is the best method I have found so far, but it is manually intensive. Sort by File Type = Varies and just start exploring.

happy holidays

Arindelle

« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2015, 08:29:22 am »