INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Library help please - re-import issues - duplicate files + missing artwork +  (Read 4666 times)

derekc

• Recent member

Hi - newbie here.

MC 21

I decided to adopt computer audio and have now uploaded my entire CD (yep even that Christmas recording that actually never gets played) onto a QNAP NAS. Three CD drives later, over 2K rips and all was good. I spent a lot of time tidying up after this mammoth exercise - mainly correcting missing artwork etc. I did this via the MC interface.

However, once I started to use MC in earnest, I noticed some recordings (though on the NAS and could be imported and played in MC ) were not showing in the Library. Hmm. Auto import is on and very recently ripped CDs were appearing OK.

Well, I thought the easiest option was to re-import the Library from the NAS folder where the music is stored. Surely it would only import the missing albums. After the import finished MC declared only a 100 or so albums had been added, which seemed reasonable.

However, I now have 3 issues;

1) Some and only some albums now appear as triplicate (all triplicates share same date modified - so are not new)  on the NAS drive  e.g. this track from the album Equilibrium by Benedikt Jahnel

\\nas\multimedia\music\01 Benedikt Jahnel - Gently Understood.wav
\\nas\multimedia\music\Equilibrium\01 Benedikt Jahnel - Gently Understood.wav
\\nas\multimedia\music\Benedikt Jahnel\Equilibrium\01 Benedikt Jahnel - Gently Understood.wav

The original ripped album was copied to

\\nas\multimedia\music\Benedikt Jahnel\Equilibrium\

but the whole CD now also appears in

\\nas\multimedia\music\
and
\\nas\multimedia\music\Benedikt Jahnel\

Why has MC done this and what is the safest way to rectify it please?