INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MAC/WIN/Linux coexisting on same LAN  (Read 3341 times)

Arindelle

• Citizen of the Universe
MAC/WIN/Linux coexisting on same LAN
« on: January 19, 2016, 05:56:03 am »

Hi all

I'm total noob when it comes to MAC and Linux OSs

A friend of mine is interested in changing his system set-up. Currently he uses a PC as his media server connected to a QNAP NAS; JRemote and 1 old laptop PC as a client.

He is buying a MAC to replace his laptop and is thinking of trying to install JRiver eventually on the QNAP.

So .. he asked me and I said no problemo ... upgrade to a Master License ...

? and then I started to read posts about MAC directory paths and things and I'm thinking oh no, he's going to make me set everything up  :o

SO .. can you mix and match OS on the same LAN? What would have to be modified if a linux machine runs as a server? How about if it is a MAc machine running mediaserver, with a PC machine as a client?

As he likes to use theater view, I suppose it would probably best that he stick with a Windows machine running as a server and leave the QNAP install alone for a bit. BUT at present, his laptop does all the admin from his laptop. I'm afraid that MAC client tagging a Win library is going to have problems with "\" and "/" as I have read in recent threads.

could anyone set me straight on this or is there a post which explains multi-OS installs using client-server set-ups. I've tried to search for one but maybe I missed something.

I imagine it works, seen as how a master license is available, but I'm not sure everything will work

thanks in advance

mwillems

• MC Beta Team
  • "Linux Merit Badge" Recipient
Re: MAC/WIN/Linux coexisting on same LAN
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2016, 07:45:24 am »