INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: poor DVD audio  (Read 1790 times)

shAf

• Citizen of the Universe
poor DVD audio
« on: August 21, 2003, 06:37:36 am »

[apologizing for the cross post to AVS, but I'm desperate ...<g>...]

Last night was my first attempt at playing a DVD movie with my newly built HTPC, and was surprised at the poor quality of the sound ... crackles, pops, poor voice recoginition. It surprised me because MP3 quality has been excellent ... and I even played the Sarah MacLachlan concert DVD with no problems.

I had 3 software DVD players available to me (including MC9.0.180), and the sound was no different from either. What could the problem be? And admittedly, I am new to trying to understand the difference between music and movie DVDs.

I couldn't find a thread which enlightened me, but I am sure this has happened before to someone. Pointing me in the right direction would be appreciated.

Someone had asked about enabling the DVD drive's "digital audio playback" (via the drive's properties). It is currently disabled, and I forgot why I disabled it before, but it seems enabling it was creating problems for CD playback & ripping(??)

system:
ASUS P4PE, P4/2.4Ghz, 512Mb
audio: M-audio Revo 7.1 (analog out 5.1 ASIO mode, newest drivers)
video: ATI AIW 9700P (newest drivers)
Plextor DVD-RW (newest firmware & driver)

TIA  :)

cheerios from the Avalon Peninsula, Newfoundland

JimH

• Administrator
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: poor DVD audio
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2003, 06:46:24 am »

Someone had asked about enabling the DVD drive's "digital audio playback" (via the drive's properties). It is currently disabled, and I forgot why I disabled it before, but it seems enabling it was creating problems for CD playback & ripping(??)

Try enabling it.