INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Store Brightness setting for each video  (Read 3329 times)

Theologian

Store Brightness setting for each video
« on: June 03, 2016, 08:20:35 am »

Hi I'm a new convert to MC21 from Kodi. What pushes me over is MC's commitment to the best video quality in Windows OS.
As a Newbie, I'm having trouble doing some simple stuff: I used the OSD (up down left and right arrows while a video is playing) to change brightness during a mkv playback, but the change I made to brightness affects all of my films. Is there anyway I can change and store the video brightness setting for just one individual video? I need to do this, because some movies (very rare) on blu ray are encoded for a different black level.

I'm using Windows 7 with an AMD graphic card and I'm using Red October HQ.

Thank you so much for your help!

RD James

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Store Brightness setting for each video
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2016, 01:03:24 pm »

"Brightness" in ROHQ is more of a gamma control than a black level control.
If you bring up the madVR preferences via the DirectShow Filters menu, you can assign keyboard shortcuts to adjust the black level and white level controls directly.
You can then use filename tags by adding [blacklevel=] and [whitelevel=] to the filename.

Theologian

« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2016, 01:49:41 pm »

Thank you for your help, but I was hoping for a more "automated" feature. According to Matt here, the feature exists:
http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=82006.msg565047#msg565047

That's been there for several versions.

Use the OSD (up, down, left, right) while playing a video.

But I can't seem to get it to work. The brightness setting stores value globally. Does it change video brightness globally for you?

RD James

« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2016, 05:32:12 pm »