INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Capacity of JRiver's software  (Read 3364 times)

journeyman2016

Capacity of JRiver's software
« on: July 13, 2016, 05:53:18 am »

I am a professional rock, blues musician of thirty five years (I will not mention my name) and having toured the world with various internationally known bands, I am now retiring and looking forward to the good, laid back life. Over the last four decades I have continually received free promo music from every major label, audition tapes, tens of thousands of colleagues concert mixing desk recordings, likewise home recordings and even, quality bootlegs from concert tapers. My collection now contains 150,000+ titles (i.e. cd, lp length recordings)  comprising (estimated by friends) most likely 18TB of digital content (when it finally is fully digitized) (although receiving from 400-800 new titlesper month this will "forever" get larger). My question, quite simply, is can JRiver's software handle data of that mass ? Or am I in a no-man's land where I will need to connect various "mini" servers to JRiver's (or other software), rather than one larger centralized "home" server, as I would like - for accessing all of my muisc ? Thanks, in advance, for any info you can share with me.
(And apropos servers, any thoughts on hardware would also be welcome).
Journeyman

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Capacity of JRiver's software
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2016, 06:36:39 am »

Welcome to the forum.  That's within MC's capacity.

The best way to learn about is to start using it.

Rip to a lossless format like FLAC.  Any will do. 

blgentry

« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2016, 07:35:22 am »