INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MC20 setup for DSD (.dff) to Denon X7200WA  (Read 24711 times)

pcg

• Recent member
MC20 setup for DSD (.dff) to Denon X7200WA
« on: September 27, 2015, 05:57:54 pm »

I've been running JRiver MC20 for 4-5 months with my Oppo BDP-95. I recently purchased a Denon x7200wa and one of the things I bought it for was to support streaming DSD (.dff) files to it. Also because its a renderer. I can stream FLAC files without problems, but when I attempt to stream a 2.8 2 channel .dff file to the Denon I see (on the Denon screen routed to my TV) the artwork come up, the file type shows WAV 176kz and I hear hiss.

I've got Bitstream DSD checked in advanced on the DLNA Servers page. It doesn't matter what I set Audio>Format to (PCM 24, PCM L16 No header, etc.) things stay the same (which is actually what I would expect).

Note that when I looked at setting the Denon up as a device it says to configure things through the DNLA servers page.

I've enclosed a screen shot below. I'm sure this is something simple that I've missed and any help would be appreciated. A LOT!  :)

By the way, when I put this same file on a USB thumb drive and attach it to the Denon it plays as a DSD file, so the file appears not to be the problem.

dtc

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Re: MC20 setup for DSD (.dff) to Denon X7200WA
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2015, 10:14:04 pm »

It sounds like the Denon may play straight dff and not DSD over DoPe. DoPe is a way of encoding a DSD into a PCM file. If the Denon does not recognize DoPe it would play as noise. You might try turning off DSD over DoPe and see if that works. It is checked in your screenshot. I am not a DLNA guy, so I am not sure if dff will bitstream directly in DLNA, without DoPe.

pcg

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2015, 10:38:10 pm »