INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Time taken to rip cd's  (Read 2349 times)

Iplod along

• Junior Woodchuck
  • nothing more to say...
Time taken to rip cd's
« on: June 08, 2003, 07:03:59 am »

I am new to Music Center and currently have BCv9 on trial. To date I have found it far better than MusicMatch which came with my 30gb Ipod.

Can anyone please tell me how long it takes to rip an average CD? I am currently experience times of an hour. I have a high mp3var encoding setting because I was experiencing high distortion on an ordinary mp3 setting in MusicMatch

I am running XP with a pentiumII processor and 320 RAM

RemyJ

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Time taken torip cd's
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2003, 07:53:16 am »

There are lots of factors which can affect ripping/encoding speed.  If you go to help/system info and paste the results here it will help.  

What happens if you rip with encoding set to Uncompressed Wave?

Fedora 38 x86_64 Xfce

Iplod along

• Junior Woodchuck
  • nothing more to say...
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2003, 10:57:01 am »

Thanks Citizen for your response. I have not tried an uncompressed rip and will do one to see. Is an hour a common time to rip in your experience?

Media Center 9.0.175 -- C:\Program Files\J River\Media Center\

Microsoft Windows XP  Workstation 5.1 Service Pack 1 (Build 2600)
Intel Pentium II 348 MHz MMX / Memory: Total - 327 MB, Free - 75 MB

Internet Explorer: 6.0.2800.1106 / ComCtl32.dll: 5.82 (xpsp1.020828-1920) / Shlwapi.dll: 6.00.2800.1106 (xpsp1.020828-1920) / Shell32.dll: 6.00.2800.1145 (xpsp2.021108-1929) / wnaspi32.dll: N/A
Ripping /   Drive E:   Copy mode:ModeBurstBigBuffer   CD Type:Auto   Read speed:Max
 Digital playback: Yes /  Use YADB: Yes /  Get cover art: No /  Calc replay gain: Yes /  Copy volume: 32767
 Eject after ripping: No /  Play sound after ripping: No  

Burning /  No burners found.