INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How in the world do you do this??  (Read 1805 times)

aeliayousaf

How in the world do you do this??
« on: May 12, 2018, 09:48:46 am »

I'm new to jriver, and on the trial version - but before i purchase it I want to know how to organize my video files in theater view. I have different folders for my movies (like comedy, action, bass testing, trailers etc.). Every time i import my my movie files from my server they are all over the place. I really do not want to go and create tags for each and every movie manually as i have over 1000 movies - there should simply be a "create category" and click and drag folders into that category.

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: How in the world do you do this??
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2018, 10:06:18 am »

~OHM~

• "I Don't Play The Music The Music Plays Me"
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2018, 02:21:25 pm »

hello aeliayousaf and welcome to Interact and JRiver Media Center
sounds like you want to sort by genre, make sure your tags are correct for genre and you should be good to go...MC can do it all...huge learning curve...good luck
“I've Reached A Turning Point In My Life. I Now Realize I Have More Yesterdays Then Tomorrows”

fitbrit

• MC Beta Team
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2018, 10:34:09 pm »

Select a couple of movies that are in different genre folders. Right click, select Library Tools> Fill Properties from Filenames

You can play with the settings there, or read the wiki if it exists, and get it so that MC reads the name of the folder the movie is in and fills the Genre field using that.
Once you know how to do that with those two files, you can select all your files and do them all at the same time.