INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What are YOU doing?  MP3s to your portable.  (Read 2629 times)

WinoOutWest

• Galactic Citizen
What are YOU doing?  MP3s to your portable.
« on: May 23, 2003, 07:07:46 am »

exMMJB-MC9 Newbie here (another week or so left on my trial version)  anyway... I digress...

I have reripped my CD collection to 256k MP3 format and am curious what the others are doing with the mp3 portable players.  Is there are way to re-encode on the fly to a 128kb size (that'd be sweet) or do you keep a separate directory with the smaller MP3s for the portable?

What are you doing?
Cheers!

Phil Lee

• World Citizen
Re: What are YOU doing?  MP3s to your portable.
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2003, 08:01:39 am »

I have a 10Gb iPod and ripped the vast majority of my files using the MP3 VBR Encoder using either the --r3mix or --alt-preset standard options. I am now reripping my favourite CD's using the LAME 3.90.2 external encoder.

These options produce relatively large files but they are very high quality. At the moment I have 1746 songs on my iPod which is around 150 CD's worth.  I am happy to have fewer songs at a higher quality on my iPod.

Which MP3 player are you using BTW?

WinoOutWest

• Galactic Citizen
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2003, 08:06:35 am »

Yeah... I am thinking that I will end up with an iPod but probably not 'till next year.  Until then I have to make do with my Rio600 with 128MB.  Once I go to the iPod I know my issue will go away as I will just transfer them at the encoded 256k.  Until then however I am looking for a way to efficiently work with my RIO.
Cheers!

nila

« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2003, 10:42:35 am »

For a player with 128 I'd probably do what I do and just plan what u want in advance and then just convert all the songs u want to put onto the player to a lower bitrate and then copy them accross.
Then just delete the files.