INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Where to start?  (Read 1112 times)

Awooof77

• Recent member
Where to start?
« on: December 25, 2018, 03:56:27 pm »

I'm new to this type of interaction so forgive my ignorance.
I purchased a music server in January 2017 from a small entrepreneur. The music server is basic computer I have running Windows 10, 64 bit.
The player is JRiver Media Center 22. As I understand this site, JRiver Media Center now is at Version 24.
I am seeking to upgrade to Version 24 and will pay upgrade costs. It appears if you have valid license the upgrade cost is much less?
The music server I purchased was "used" trade-in. May be licensed under another name?
The entrepreneur I purchased from sent me a string of letters to use to identify my JRiver Media Center as valid license. I've not tried upgrading yet.
Is there a contact at JRiver to ask this question so I do not have to read through 75 FAQ's trying to find similar question or should I just try upgrade and see what happens?
I don't want to risk losing my music 5200 song library stored in JRiver Media Center due to my ignorance of upgrade or even if I'm eligible. I did do a backup just in case.
Thank you for you help.

Awooof

swiv3d

Re: Where to start?
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2018, 04:51:08 pm »

You would have to purchase a brand new version of the program. You secondhand version will be registered to some other person and any details required for the upgrade process would be sent to their email address.

astromo

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2018, 07:19:45 pm »

My understanding generally concurs with swiv3d, although I believe (but may be wrong) that licence transfer is possible. I thought I read on the forum somewhere that you can reassign the licence details to a new email address by suitable request to the JRiver team.