INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Skipping [Solved]  (Read 857 times)

patented_licks

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 88
Skipping [Solved]
« on: April 24, 2020, 09:12:51 pm »

MC 26 has taken to skipping as a frequent occurrence (v 26.0.30, 64-bit). Haven't changed settings. Any recommended correction?
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71603
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: skipping
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2020, 10:05:39 pm »

Antivirus?

If you're on Windows 10, please read the thread on Windows Defender.
Logged

timwtheov

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 354
Re: skipping
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2020, 02:25:18 am »

I had this issuue on the couple of MC 26 64 bit updates before 67 and 69 and after a couple of Windows updates, where I hadn't heard it before. In my case, it was Malwarebytes, even though I'd set up exceptions for the JRiver folder and most of the exe files. I uninstalled Malwarebytes because I hated it anyway, but I suspect it was somehow interfering with the audio through its monitoring.
Logged

arcspin

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 386
Re: skipping
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2020, 02:39:42 am »

I too have had some problems regarding Malwarebytes after their update to 4.0.
I had "micro freeze" of computer for a half a second up to a second from time to time.
It also happen when I watched movies in MC.
When I stopped Malwarebytes the "micro freezes" also went away.
I think they are up to 4.1 now but I'm keeping Malwarebytes off for now.

Logged
Hardware: Intel Core i5-8600K 16GB RAM, ASUS GeForce RTX 2080 8GB DUAL OC
Software: Windows 10 Home 64-bit, version 2004, JRiver MC 29, MadVr 0.92.17 (Beta 113), NVIDIA driver 457.09
Projector: JVC DLA-I X5500 (RS420, X570R) -
Screen: DNP Supernova 08-85
Processor: Anthem AVM 70
Power amp: XTZ A2-400 for Front & Center - XTZ A2-300 for Surround & Height channels
Speakers: Arendal 1723 S Monitor for Front & Center, Linn Unik for Front Height, Rear Height, Surround & Surround back. Elipson Planet M for Top Middle.
Sub: Arendal 1723 1S

brgreg

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: skipping
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2020, 07:10:48 am »

Thank you for clueing me in on Malwarebytes.  It was creating another
problem which had been driving me nuts for several days.
All of a sudden, when I had multiple servers running MC, I was unable to
see the devices/libraries on the other servers on Playing Now.
Some of the remote devices/libraries would eventually appear, but not all.

I quit Malwarebytes after Startup, and all appeared as expected!
Running v 4.1, but no longer!
Logged

timwtheov

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 354
Re: Skipping [Solved]
« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2020, 11:18:17 am »

@arcspin: Yes, that was happening to me too! I was almost ready to do a Windows 10 recovery because I started getting these increasing freeze-ups. Then the audio glitches made me think that maybe it was all Malwarebytes, and since I uninstalled, I haven't had any problems at all.
Logged

patented_licks

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 88
Re: Skipping [Solved]
« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2020, 01:04:05 pm »

Thanks for the mention of Malwarebytes, which seems to have been my problem. I added the "J River" folder (which has the 64-bit program installed (in /Program Files/)) to Malwarebytes "allow list" and that solved the skipping problem. Am running Malwarebytes 4.1.0.56 under Windows 10 Home.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up