INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Feature Request: Images for Album Artist  (Read 409 times)

Marc9BR

• Recent member
Feature Request: Images for Album Artist
« on: September 09, 2021, 10:43:29 am »

Hello.

I've been using JRiver since 2015 and I love the product.

There's one minor issue that I've never been able to fully resolve.

I'd really like to see artist images when browsing views that are grouped by album artist, since this is the primary way I use to browse my collection of CDs and Music Videos. I mainly use JRemote to browse my collection and play files on my system.

I'm aware of the functionality that shows artist images based on the artist field, recovering the image that is in the artist subfolder of the cover art folder.

The problem with that aproach is that even when an album has a primary artist (not a compilation album) indicated in the Album Artist field, there are many cases when there are guest artists in the tracks and that sometimes causes JRemote to show the artist image representing the guest artist of a specific track for a whole group of albums by a main artist (the artist indicated in the Album Artist field).

So lets say, for example, that an album by Paul Mccartney has a track that is sung by Ringo Starr. That case migh result in 2 situations :

1 - The artist filed is filled with "Ringo Starr" in an album by Paul Mccartney ("Album Artist" field is filled with "Paul Mccartney") - In this case JRemote sometimes shows a picture of Ringo Starr in a group that only has Paul Mccartney albums