INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Spotlight in JRemote?  (Read 295 times)

DangerJP

• World Citizen
Spotlight in JRemote?
« on: November 06, 2023, 01:03:54 pm »

My 2 cents  :)

I've been using MC since around 2015 and use it every day, especially for:
1. managing a large, local music collection and creating custom views;
2. Playing music around the house through JRemote running on iOS.

I've tried Roon and really like the user interface, but I didn't renew my subscription since it's nowhere near as flexible as MC for managing local content, and I don't use streaming too much (I juste use the Spotify app for that).
However, I must admit that Roon excels with:
1. the simplified use of filters (as opposed to "panes" in MC, which don't transfer too well to JRemote);
2. the dedicated artists, albums and genres views and the clickable links between them.

For my second point above, I think you really are onto something with Spotlight :) I dream of a Spolight integration using local metadata (MC fields) OR subscribed metadata, if needed. Using Spotlight through JRemote and navigating between artists, albums and genres would be the icing on the cake  ;D

MikeO

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Spotlight in JRemote?
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2023, 11:08:35 pm »

Spotlight needs to go into JRemote. It's a great feature and getting better (I don't use it much because)

My MC server is a noisy desktop , so by definition well away from my listening spot. My use case is sat in a chair with an iPad with JRemote and Headphones so any features in MC like Spotlight , Wikipedia , Allmusic links are in another room.

Roon's app in general have the same feature set regardless of OS so I can browse on my iPad pretty much the same way as Windows

Even a link to a Wikipedia article would help

Just a thought ....

JimH

• Administrator
  • Where did I put my teeth?