INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Popping when encoding  (Read 1780 times)

ebisudave

• Recent member
  • Change this by choosing profile
Popping when encoding
« on: May 29, 2004, 10:36:07 pm »

I recently downloaded the trial version of Media Center 10. I also bought a new CD, and ripped it using Media Center. Also, I'm using Windows XP.

The quality is terrible! All the songs make popping noises. I've experimented with different encoders (LAME and Windows Media), different bit rates (128 and 192 - I'd prefer to make it 192).

I can't see anywhere else to change settings.

I don't know if this is a Media Center 10 specific issue or one that existed with Media Center 9. I never used Media Center 9 to rip my previous CDs. This is my first time ripping a CD within MC. Before, I used MusicMatch Juke Box, which did a fantastic job of ripping everything with crystal clarity.

However, I would rather not have more than one MP3 music software on my machine. What does one do to get a decent ripping of a CD?

Dave G

Roar

• Recent member
Re:Popping when encoding
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2004, 05:47:22 pm »

Perhaps the popping sound is the result of ripping a CD with scratches or other defects?

You could try re-ripping one of the tracks that make popping noises, after changing the ripping method to "Secure".

Open Tools => Options...

Select Devices

Click Advanced Ripping Settings under Audio CD Rip (Copy)

Choose the relevant drive if there are multiple choices.

Change Copy Mode to "Secure".

- Roar

ebisudave

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2004, 08:45:42 pm »

Roar,

It's definitely not an issue of scratches. It's a brand new CD that plays perfectly straight from the drive or in any other player.