INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Notes on Media Center 10  (Read 2605 times)

negopus

• Galactic Citizen
  • Negopus: negotium, otium et opus
Notes on Media Center 10
« on: June 20, 2004, 02:55:37 pm »

I am an Italian audio enthusiast engineer. I am going to report a (long) list of considerations I have made during the last months while using Media Center.

Immediateness Of Use
I am using Media Center a lot, as it is the only integrated tool that allows me to perform certain organization tasks on audio files. It is really one step beyond a simple "multimedia file player". But its use isn't immediate.
When, in your workplace, you are compelled by your management to use certain software, e.g. Word or Outlook, you find it very difficult to achieve certain results. You have to resort to all your skill and imagination: at the end, with a great effort, you can still achieve the result you want. But you have to concentrate on the instrument, while the instrument should be transparent and immediate to use, just like using a screwdriver.
The same applies to Media Center. Many things can be done, but they are all two or three clicks away, while the most used functions should all be one click (or one hot-key) away. Most functions I use very often (like Audio Analysis) require a long sequence of mouse clicks (or, using the keyboard, ALT+T, L, A, a key sequence that one is going to forget easily). Moreover, when you want to perform a given task, you have to put an hand on your forehead and _think_: "well, how do I do that?". Most functions appear really unnatural. If I want to have a certain sorting on files, I have to _think_: "well, to have files sorted by fields A, B, and C I have to click on the columns in reverse order: C, B then A".
After all, Media Center is entertainment software.

Structuring of Media Center Features