INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: FLAC.... yet again  (Read 5727 times)

stefansmith

• Junior Woodchuck
  • 1.2TB - 3500 albums - FLACs
FLAC.... yet again
« on: February 07, 2005, 06:35:46 am »

I've been using MC for a few years now, mostly with APEs and MP3s. For various reasons, I need FLAC for some purposes. I know there is a plug-in for MC10 to work with FLAC, and I've tried it and it works OK, but I'm wondering if FLAC integration will be a little bit easier in MC11.

I searched the archives of this forum, and cannot seem to find a definitive or clear answer -- so will it be integrated, available as a plug-in, or still a third party patch?

My frustration over the FLAC issue has led me to look for other solutions, but I still keep coming back to MC -- it beats other player hands down.
I think Monkeys Audio is great and use it alot, but sometimes NEED flac too. It would just be nice to have the option. And looking through the archives, it seems alot of people think the same.
Thanks to anyone who can clear this up.

iCamp

• Galactic Citizen
  • nothing more to say...
Re: FLAC.... yet again
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2005, 10:59:47 am »

I think there are hundreds of MC users who agree with you on all points, however, it appears true FLAC support by JRiver is a dead issue.  I wish things were different but that's just the way it appears.
The FLAC plug-in is OK for basic use though -at least we have that.  :)

scthom

• Citizen of the Universe
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2005, 10:01:42 pm »

I've been toying with the idea of trying to write the encoder plugin to match the existing decoder plugin.

I don't want to get anybody's hopes up, as I'm pretty busy and not that good of a programmer.

However, I do use FLAC myself and would prefer the plugin to the external encoder as is currently available.