INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: New to MC, Media Server questions  (Read 1391 times)

scottlindner

• Junior Woodchuck
New to MC, Media Server questions
« on: June 04, 2006, 04:22:12 pm »

I'm a MC newbie (still on trial before buying) and I have a few questions about the Media Server option.

I'd like to maintain all of our music in a single location.  Just today I started dabbling with using MC as a client on one machine and MC as a server on another machine.  I tried changed some of the metadata for a file on the client, but those changes do not show up on the server.  Is it possible to enable all clients (or just some?) to have full change control of the library hosted by the MC Media Server?

I had more questions but I forgot what they are now.  Guess I'll have to post back.

I love this application!  I wish I knew about it a long time ago.

Cheers,
Scott

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: New to MC, Media Server questions
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2006, 05:52:30 pm »

I tried changed some of the metadata for a file on the client, but those changes do not show up on the server.  Is it possible to enable all clients (or just some?) to have full change control of the library hosted by the MC Media Server?
It isn't possible.  The client is read-only.

scottlindner

• Junior Woodchuck
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2006, 05:55:39 pm »

Is this planned in the future?

To me it naturally makes sense.  It would make the application distributable and will separate client functionality from server functionality.  I guess this is why I find so many questions about replication, backup, file shares, VNC, etc.  To get the same capability as if it were a distributed app.

Thanks for the prompt reply.  I'll stop holding out hope that it's something hiding in a forum thread that I couldn't find.

Cheers,
Scott

JimH