INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: must MC be in focus to receive Girder or HIP commands?  (Read 1762 times)

Jinster

• Recent member
must MC be in focus to receive Girder or HIP commands?
« on: November 29, 2006, 06:50:13 am »

Hello friendly folks.  :) I am a MC and Girder newbie, but computer veteran.

My setup is as follows:
1. IR Trans built-in into a Origaene x15e case, with the supplied MCE remote
2. MC 11 and Girder and HIP.
3. UltraMon on a dual monitor setup

This is what I have figured out so far:

1. Using the IR Trans receiver, my MCE remote functions just like a 3rd party remote, except Windows XP seems to accept remote button presses as keystrokes by default (with only IR Trans loaded, and HIP and Girder disabled).

2. I can remap the buttons on my MCE remote to a sequence of keystrokes using HIP and send them to MC - but this can only be done if MC is in focus. Once MC is out of focus, my MCE remote seems to send Windows default keystrokes again and not MC specific keystrokes. I think this happens because HIP is only able to send application specific commands when the application is in focus.

3. I am trying to use UltraMon to throw MC windows around between my TV and the LCD screen (depending on how I want to use it). This can only be done if the window I want to throw around is in focus. And MC somehow loses focus every now and then.

My question is this:
1. Is there a way, using either HIP or Girder, to send commands to MC regardless of whether it's in focus or not (either via the emulation of a sequence of keystrokes or via direct Windows Message Commands)?
2. Is there a neat way to bring MC back into focus, using a series of Girder or HIP keystrokes or Windows Message Commands?

Much appreciated.

glynor

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Re: must MC be in focus to receive Girder or HIP commands?