INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How to distribute MC across the house  (Read 1601 times)

sparx

• Recent member
  • Change this by choosing profile
How to distribute MC across the house
« on: January 31, 2007, 12:56:42 pm »

I will be building a new house this year, and would like to do the A/V right in this house.
Today I have my PC connected to my amplifier, and that's is it. So I can play music in the living room.

I should say I am a novice in this.

I would like to be able to play different music in different rooms at the same time, but also to be able to watch photos and film from the PC on my TV.

My budget is limited, so I would like your recommendations for what type of eg. amplifier I should get, recommendable ceiling speakers etc. What kind of cabling, etc.

I also plan on putting up an small touchscreen running MC in theather view or running Meedio with MC plugin.

Any help or advice appreciated.

benn600

• Citizen of the Universe
  • Living: Santa Monica CA Hometown: Cedar Rapids IA
Re: How to distribute MC across the house
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2007, 03:45:37 pm »

I would say ethernet all over at the very least.  I prefer hard wired vs. wireless in most cases.  Run CAT6 so you can use gigabit in the future (or now).  Other than that, I couldn't imagine running SPDIF around the house nor could I imagine analog audio.  Other than a proprietary system, ethernet is your best bet.