INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Trying to find server name for remote server on laptop (and soon Nokia 770)  (Read 1793 times)

ted_b

• World Citizen

Hi.  I am brand new to MC (foobar and SB3 user up to now).  I am interetsed in MC for many reasons (sonically most of all) and like that it has a web-based remote capability.  I guess I have two questions:
1)  My home desktop (where MC 12 is loaded) is called :office" so I assumed that my laptop, working in the same home lan, could simply find it (I setup remote server port 80 in options) by saying http://office:80.  No go.  How do I find the REAL name of my pc.  I use a 2Wire DSL/router and have it set to leave port 80 available outside the firewall.  MAybe the name is embedded in the home lan name?
2)  I'm getting a Nokia 770 (Woot.com had them for $129) this weekend, and my real goal is to use it to access MC 12.  Do I do anything special (once I get the url naming convention straightened out above)?  Do I need a special skin that's built for the Nokia 770?   Will it have more functionality than what is purportedly available on remote server?  I'd love to search album covers, etc (like I planned on doing on Slimserver and the Nokia until I found MC).

Thx..sorry for the basic questions.  Running WinXP.

Ted

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?

Welcome.  I'm not sure I'd call those questions basic, but here's a stab at an answer.

The name you're using may be a Windows name.  We need a TCP/IP name, but you can also use a TCP/IP address.  If you're behind a router, it's probably a fake address (assigned by DHCP) like 192.168.0.12.  You can find it by running the Windows CMD  (Start/Run/CMD) and typing ipconfig.  You may also have firewall issues, etc.