INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MC 12 Across Network?  (Read 1621 times)

realdeal

• Recent member
MC 12 Across Network?
« on: August 18, 2007, 12:39:29 am »

I am new to MC so please bear with me...

I have 3 computers on my home network.  I have all my music on one drive that I share amongst the network.

Is it possible to install MC 12 on all 3 computers and be able to share the music that is stored in that one location?

Thanks

jmone

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • I won! I won!
Re: MC 12 Across Network?
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2007, 01:46:15 am »

Sure is - just point your "Auto Import Folders" to your network drive/folder on each MC12 instance.  This however then gives you three independant MC12 Libraries (one on each PC).
Thanks
Nathan
JRiver CEO Elect

ThoBar

• Was confishy
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2007, 04:22:27 am »

There are also more advanced options that enable library sharing (as opposed to sharing just the media) that may or may not be suitable according to what it is you wish, and how comfortable you are with certain facets of networking. Doing a search for Glynor's library sharing script, or on library sharing on these forums will yield you good results.

Also, MC has a library server function that allows other MC installations to access a master copy of MC with it's library setup. This is very useful for the general scenario that you describe, however it falls down on video sharing (it works, but must download cache the entire video to the client before it will play).

C.

realdeal

• Recent member
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2007, 12:32:36 pm »

If using the library server option within MC12, would my wife be able to sync her ipod on her networked computer using the shared library?  Additionally, would I have to keep MC12 running on the "main" computer at all times?

Also, just curious....