INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Large Cover Art Replaced with Small  (Read 3147 times)

benn600

• Citizen of the Universe
  • Living: Santa Monica CA Hometown: Cedar Rapids IA
Large Cover Art Replaced with Small
« on: March 25, 2008, 10:13:20 pm »

I started playing a song I ripped several weeks back.  I noticed tiny cover art.  Yikes!  So I started investigating.  Media Center overwrote close to 10 of my high resolution cover art files with tiny downloaded copies!  Thank goodness I have Shadow Copy.  I just searched for all my cover art files, sorted by size, and the ones where a previous version existed revealed the good copy.  So I restored the good copies.

Please examine this issue and resolve it because I don't think you want folder.jpg files being overwritten (ever), right?  The downloaded copies were very small and did not match what I physically have (and scanned)...which is the reason I scan it in to begin with.

Thanks!

fitbrit

• MC Beta Team
Re: Scary Cover Art Issue
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2008, 10:50:57 pm »

Welcome back, Ben. The forum(s) missed you.

MrC

• Your life is short. Give me your money.
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2008, 11:22:46 pm »

I see a number of my cover art files were overwritten as well, for albums I've not touched in ages.
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

Alex B

• MC Beta Team
  • The Cosmic Bird
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2008, 03:52:57 am »

Did you guys import files from the same folder(s) to a new or old library. If yes, do you have the "Get cover art" auto-import option enabled?

It would be useful if you could try to reproduce the behavior with a few test files & folders and report.

Is it possible that someone used WMP11 for playing or otherwise accessing the files? When it queries online metadata it may overwrite old folder.jpg files automatically.