INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Jukebox will not close  (Read 1837 times)

hoodle

Jukebox will not close
« on: April 04, 2008, 09:41:41 pm »

Hi all,
I'm new to JR Jukebox, and I really love what I see - the interface, everything.  I have a strange problem, though, and it's keeping me from wanting to use the program.  It seems to run normally, but then it regularly (about 1/3 of the time) refuses to quit.  I click the red button in the corner, and nothing happens... it just freezes.  Often Vista tells me the program has stopped responding.  I can force quit out, but it will not quit on its own.  Task manager just shows it as using something like 40-50% of the CPU. 

I'm running a Sony VAIO SZ450N, Vista Business.  I have about 30 gigs of music.  I did tell it to "build thumbnails" which took a long time.  I have NOD32 antivirus.  I'll try disabling it and seeing it that helps, but I'd be surprised (it's never gotten in my way before!)

any ideas?

hoodle

Re: Jukebox will not close
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2008, 09:45:21 pm »

As an update - I want to tell ESET NOD32 not to scan JR Jukebox.  What directories should I point it to - my music folder? or the program folder?  It seems likely, based on other posts, that this will be resolved once my antivirus stops looking at it, but I don't know how best to do that while still having it monitor my files.

A FURTHER UPDATE:
I have NOD32 ignoring the Jukebox program file in its entirety, and it doesn't seem to be helping.  What I've noticed:

1) when first opened up, the program uses less than 10% CPU, and I can close it normally.  THis lasts for about 20 seconds.

2) after about 20 seconds, the program starts using dramatically more CPU (~30% CPU) and I can't close (the red button ceases to work, and the program as a whole stops responding).

AoXoMoXoA

• Citizen of the Universe