INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Where do I stick the new iPod?  (Read 1670 times)

maxxsid

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Where do I stick the new iPod?
« on: September 26, 2008, 02:02:56 am »

Hello,
I am a total newbie in iPod domain. My trusty Rio Karma finally died (HD failed after 3 years) and I need to find a replacement. Don't really see anything but an iPod as an alternative, unfortunately.
Please help me to answer these questions:
- MC12/MC13 do not support the new iPods (I am aiming at iPod Classic, either 6th or 7th generation, 160Gb or 120Gb)
- As per this forum, we are not allowed to install iTunes (and I don't want too)
- How do I transfer audio/video to an iPod then?

I can use MC to sync to a fake handheld (PC folder) to have the right files but how do I transfer them to the iPod?
Appreciate your replies!
--max

zxsix

• MC Beta Team
Re: Where do I stick the new iPod?
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2008, 10:49:21 am »

You'll need itunes to sync, just not Itunes 8.0.  Download an older 7.something version.

maxxsid

• MC Beta Team
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2008, 12:42:36 pm »

Oh.. I see.. So, the old 7.x version _will_ work with the new ipods.. Good!
Thanks!
--max

You'll need itunes to sync, just not Itunes 8.0.  Download an older 7.something version.

bwaldron

• World Citizen
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2008, 01:32:31 pm »

- MC12/MC13 do not support the new iPods (I am aiming at iPod Classic, either 6th or 7th generation, 160Gb or 120Gb)

If you go with the 6th generation (160GB) Classic, MC will work fine with it (I have one). I don't think that it is working with the new 120GB Classic, but I don't know that to be a fact.

Frobozz

• There is a small mailbox here.
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2008, 12:03:56 am »