INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Android Phone -- First Look -- Support Added in MC13.0.95  (Read 4044 times)

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Android Phone -- First Look -- Support Added in MC13.0.95
« on: December 12, 2008, 04:35:31 pm »

I bought a Google Developer phone (HTC G1) last week.  It's unlocked and cost $400.  I got it today, tried a couple of SIM cards in it, without any luck, then took it to AT&T.

After about a half hour of head scratching, the AT&T guys were able to get it working.  It's only working with EDGE right now, but should open up to the 3G network soon -- they think.

It's a pretty nice phone, I think.  Touch screen interface, a few more buttons than an iPhone, and a slideout keyboard.  I'm still learning how to get around on it, but the phone has a 3.2 megapixel camera, GPS, a really simple music player, and it keeps in Sync with Google whatever email, contacts, and schedule you keep on Google.  You have to have a Google email account to get it going.

IT WORKS WITH MC13

I had a lot of trouble getting the 1GB MicroSD chip to show up as a drive on my PC.  I tried a lot of different things.  What worked was a Google Search, which showed me how.  My notes:

Connect with USB.  Touch and open Notification area at top.  Tap on "USB Connected" and choose Mount.  Now the drive will show in Windows Explorer.  In other versions of the Android OS, this may be done in the settings for SD card.  EDIT -- the mount command must be used each time you connect.  I hope this changes in a future version.