INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Is this program moving or changing files on my hard-drive?  (Read 2159 times)

ls35a

Is this program moving or changing files on my hard-drive?
« on: December 17, 2010, 03:56:11 pm »

I've ripped 600 cd's and have them in a \music folder on my drive just the way I want them.

I installed JRiver today and was playing some track and an error message popped up: 'Encountered error while moving and tagging files'.

MOVING FILES??

I'm new to this media-player stuff, I just use my streamer to play music in my main hi-fi system.   My PC is just a server.

PLEASE TELL ME that this JRiver program is NOT MOVING OR CHANGING MY FILES. 

Matt

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: Is this program moving or changing files on my hard-drive?
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2010, 04:06:08 pm »

If Auto-Import is configured to get missing cover art or analyze audio, the program may update tags.

This is configurable in Options > Library & Folders...

You can disable certain auto-import tasks, or disable auto-import, or even disable the ability of the program to write tags all together in Options > General > Update tags when file info changes.  We recommend the default settings, but try to expose complete flexibility.
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

ls35a

« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2010, 04:11:44 pm »

If Auto-Import is configured to get missing cover art or analyze audio, the program may update tags.

This is configurable in Options > Library & Folders...

You can disable certain auto-import tasks, or disable auto-import, or even disable the ability of the program to write tags all together in Options > General > Update tags when file info changes.  We recommend the default settings, but try to expose complete flexibility.

Thanks for the reply.