INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Webremote Issues.  (Read 2997 times)

fercruz

Webremote Issues.
« on: January 24, 2011, 12:34:47 pm »

Hi,

I'm relatively new to the forum. I've been using MC for a couple of years now, I currently have MC15.

I got an Ipad that I want to use as a remote controller for MC15.

I followed the instructions on the wiki page without success. When I use the "Test connection to this server" option in MC15, I get: "The library server is no reachable from the internet, but you can still use it within your local network".

I tried using webremote within the same network with the ipad without success. However, when doing it on a laptop it worked. With the ipad, I get: "not allowed to use restricted network port".

I'm bad with networks and technology, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

FC.

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Webremote Issues.
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2011, 12:45:01 pm »

MC defaults to port 52199 for Media Network functions, but you can set it to any port you want.  That's in the Media Network options.

The iPad must be refusing to operate on that port.  You could try port 80.  Or 23.  Those may be open.  A search for information about the iPad's allowed ports might help.

You could also read the Wiki article here on "Network Access".

Scolex

• MC Beta Team
  • Cheers
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2011, 02:40:00 pm »

Not 100% sure but I believe the *i* devices won't use any port over 49151
Sean

NickF

« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2011, 01:39:07 am »

My iPhone 4 uses port 52199 without any problem.  I didn't need to change anything on the iPhone to use WebRemote.

There are, apparently, a number of restricted ports on the iPad.  I assume the implementation on the iPad is different from the iPhone.