INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Frozen TV and stuttering audio when switching between channels  (Read 5906 times)

fobos8

• Junior Woodchuck

Hi all

I'm new to TV and I'm having several problems.

One is that when I change channel I get stuttering and repeated audio for about three seconds. For example instead of someone saying, "here it is" they say"here it is, is, is, is, is, is......". Most of the time after a few seconds all is okay. Its annoying though.

The other is that when flicking between channels using the up and down buttons on my remote every so often the video will freeze. Sometimes after a while (minute or so) it will get corrected. Other times I have to close down Media Center.

For the video problem I have tried the following settings;

RedOctober standard and HD
Hardware acceleration
Video Clock

For the audio problem I have tried;

Increasing the buffer size and maximizing the skip resistance settings.

Does JRiver keep logs anywhere? If so where?

Kind regards, Andrew

Yaobing

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Dogs of the world unite!
Re: Frozen TV and stuttering audio when switching between channels
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2013, 04:29:06 pm »

The audio hiccups during channel changing maybe related to a known issue.  When changing channel, you create a momentary data shortage.  Depending on the settings you choose in Audio, the audio renderer may loop on the last available data.  You can try using different audio options and see if the problem would go away (Direct Sound, Kernel Streaming, WASAPI, etc.).

Regarding video freeze, does it involve video/audio format change (MPEG2 vs H264 for example)? 

Logs are not very good at catching the cause of either problems, but send on my way anyway.  yaobing at jriver dot com
Yaobing Deng, JRiver Media Center

fobos8

• Junior Woodchuck