INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Any solution for Media Server (standalone) on Linux/Ubuntu?  (Read 17646 times)

JeffBerry

First off, I want to thank you guys for J River. I have been using the software for 6-7 years now and would never use anything else. I have a music collection of over 150,000 songs and J River has helped me to perfectly organize it, and makes it enjoyable to listen to daily. No other program gets as much runtime as J River. Thank you again, really.

My question is this - and I've seen it discussed a few places here on the forums, but I figure since progress is being made in porting J River over to different platforms there may be more insight now; is it possible or are there any solutions to running the Media Server / DLNA server portion of J River standalone? I have a Ubuntu driven HTPC/Server that hosts all my media. I am able to share J Rivers library between computers over the NAS, but I would like to have a DLNA server running 24/7 so my music is available on the road as well. My other computer is a laptop so having it on 24/7 running the server doesn't work. Are there any plans to at least make the Media Server portion standalone, that way I could maybe use Wine or something similar for Ubuntu to run it? I would be willing to pay a separate decent amount for this feature. Currently I am running MiniDLNA and it's broadcasting my media folder, but J River just gives those amazing options of being able to organize how the DLNA is displayed and... well, I just love JR and would rather use it :)

Any insight would be great, maybe there's some of you in the same boat that have a solution?

Thanks,
Jeff

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Any solution for Media Server (standalone) on Linux/Ubuntu?
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2013, 06:55:46 am »

Thanks for the kind words.